Alan Hardaker

Alan Hardaker was one of the most influential men in the history of the Football League, serving as Secretary of the organisation from December 1956 until Graham Kelly succeeded him in June 1979. He was seen as the main instigator of the League Cup competition which was added to the footballing calendar in 1960 amidst widespread criticism from the leading clubs and the press. To mark mark his contribution to the League Cup the Alan Hardaker Trophy was introduced in 1990, being awarded to the 'Man of the Match' in each seasons' League Cup Final. The winners -


    Winner Team Opposition


Des Walker Nottingham Forest Oldham Athletic
  1991 Nigel Pearson Sheffield Wednesday Manchester United
  1992 Brian McClair Manchester United Nottingham Forest
  1993 Paul Merson Arsenal Sheffield Wednesday
  1994 Kevin Richardson Aston Villa Manchester United
    1995 Steve McManaman Liverpool Bolton Wanderers
    1996 Andy Townsend Aston Villa Leeds United
    1997 Steve Walsh Leicester City Middlesbrough
    1998 Dennis Wise Chelsea Middlesbrough
    1999 Allan Nielsen Tottenham Hotspur Leicester City
    2000 Matt Elliott Leicester City Tranmere Rovers
    2001 Robbie Fowler Liverpool Birmingham City
    2002 Brad Friedel Blackburn Rovers Tottenham Hotspur
    2003 Jerzy Dudek Liverpool Manchester United
    2004 Boudewijn Zenden Middlesbrough Bolton Wanderers
    2005 John Terry Chelsea Liverpool
    2006 Wayne Rooney Manchester United Wigan Athletic
    2007 Didier Drogba Chelsea Arsenal
    2008 Jonathan Woodgate Tottenham Hotspur Chelsea
    2009 Ben Foster Manchester United Tottenham Hotspur
    2010 Antonio Valencia Manchester United Aston Villa
    2011 Ben Foster Birmingham City Arsenal
    2012 Stewart Downing Liverpool Cardiff City
    2013 Nathan Dyer Swansea City Bradford City
      2014 Samir Nasri Manchester City Sunderland
      2015 John Terry Chelsea Tottenham Hotspur
      2016 Vincent Kompany Manchester City Liverpool
      2017 Zlatan Ibrahimović Manchester United Southampton
    2018 Vincent Kompany Manchester City Arsenal