receives the first of his
FIFA World Player of the Year
awards in 1996

Lionel Messi,
the Barcelona player became the first player to finish top of the world three seasons in a row.

FIFA introduced their World Player of the Year award in 1991. The award was given to the player selected by votes cast by the coaches and captains of the member nations of FIFA.

In 2010 the award was merged with the European Footballer of the Year (Ballon d'Or) with journalists as well as coached and captains being included in the voting process. In 2010 Lionel Messi became the first winner of the FIFA Ballon d'Or.


    1991 Lothar Matthaus (Germany & Inter Milan)
    1992 Marco Van Basten (Holland & AC Milan)
    1993 Roberto Baggio (Italy & Juventus)
    1994 Romario (Brazil & Barcelona)
    1995 George Weah (Liberia & AC Milan)
    1996 Ronaldo (Brazil & Barcelona)
    1997 Ronaldo (Brazil & Inter Milan)
    1998 Zinedine Zidane (France & Juventus)
    1999 Rivaldo (Brazil & Barcelona)
    2000 Zinedine Zidane (France & Juventus)
    2001 Luis Figo (Portugal & Real Madrid)
    2002 Ronaldo (Brazil & Real Madrid)
    2003 Zinedine Zidane (France & Real Madrid)
    2004 Ronaldinho (Brazil & Barcelona)
    2005 Ronaldinho (Brazil & Barcelona)
    2006 Fabio Cannavaro (Italy & Real Madrid)
    2007 Kaka (Brazil & AC Milan)
    2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal & Manchester United)
    2009 Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)
    2010 Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)
    2011 Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)
    2012 Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)