ASTON VILLA   2008/09
      Intertoto Cup/UEFA Cup
     
   

Aston Villa became England's representatives in the Intertoto Cup by finishing as the highest placed in the Premier League in 2007/08 of the clubs wishing to enter the competition .

   
   
Intertoto Cup
1st & 2nd Rounds - Bye
3rd Round 
1st Leg Sat Jul 19 Odense BK (Denmark) Away Drew 2-2
2nd Leg Sat Jul 26 Odense BK Home Won 1-0
Won 3-2 on aggregate.
UEFA Cup
2nd Qualifying Round
1st Leg Thu Aug 14 FH Hafnarfjordur (Iceland) Away Won 4-1
2nd Leg Thu Aug 28 FH Hafnarfjordur Home Drew 1-1
Won 5-2 on aggregate.
1st Round
1st Leg Thu Sep 18 Litex Lovech (Bulgaria) Away Won 3-1
2nd Leg Thu Oct 2 Litex Lovech Home Drew 1-1
Won 4-2 on aggregate.
UEFA Cup Group Stage
Group F Thu Oct 23 Ajax (Holland) Home Won 2-1
Group F Thu Nov 6 Slavia Prague (Czech Republic) Away Won 1-0
Group F Thu Dec 4 MSK Zilina (Slovakia) Home Lost 1-2
Group F Wed Dec 17 Hambury (Germany) Away Lost 1-3
Round of the Last 32
1st Leg Wed Feb 18 CSKA Moscow (Russia) Home Drew 1-1
2nd Leg Thu Feb 26 CSKA Moscow Away Lost 0-2
Lost 1-3 on aggregate.