FULHAM    2009/10
      Europa League
     
 

The tension of the final.
It's never over....

 

For the first time Fulham qualified for European competition by League position, their 7th place in the Premier League in 2008/09 earning them a place in the Europa Cup. They became the first English side to play in that competition.

   
1st Qualifying Round - Bye
2nd Qualifying Round - Bye
3rd Qualifying Round
1st Leg Thu Jul 30 FK Vetra (Lithuania) Away Won 3-0
2nd Leg Thu Aug 6 FK Vetra Home Won 3-0
Won 6-0 on aggregate.
Play Off
1st Leg Thu Aug 20 Amkar Perm (Russia) Home Won 3-1
2nd Leg Thu Aug 27 Amkar Perm Away Lost 0-1
Won 3-2 on aggregate.
Group Stage
Group E Thu Sep 17 CSKA Sofia (Bulgaria) Away Drew 1-1
Group E Thu Oct 1 Basle (Switzerland) Home Won 1-0
Group E Thu Oct 22 Roma (Italy) Home Drew 1-1
Group E Thu Nov 5 Roma Away Lost 1-2
Group E Thu Dec 3 CSKA Sofia Home Won 1-0
Group E Wed Dec 16 Basle Away Won 3-2
Fulham finished second in the Group and with Roma qualified for the knock-out stages.   Full Group results and table.
Round of the Last 32
1st Leg Thu Feb 18 Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine) Home Won 2-1
2nd Leg Thu Feb 25 Shakhtar Donetsk Away Drew 1-1
Won 3-2 on aggregate.
Round of the Last 16
1st Leg Thu Mar 11 Juventus (Italy) Away Lost 1-3
2nd Leg Thu Mar 18 Juventus Home Won 4-1
Won 5-4 on aggregate.
Quarter-Final
1st Leg Thu Apr 1 Wolfsburg (Germany) Home Won 2-1
2nd Leg Thu Apr 8 Wolfsburg Away Won 1-0
Won 3-1 on aggregate.
Semi-Final
1st Leg Thu Apr 22 Hamburg (Germany) Away Drew 0-0
2nd Leg Thu Apr 29 Hamburg Home Won 2-1
Won 2-1 on aggregate.
Final  (at the Nordbank Arena, Hamburg)
  Wed May 12 Atletico Madrid (Spain) Neutral Lost 1-2