MANCHESTER CITY   2008/09
      UEFA Cup
     
 

* City staged  their home UEFA Cup match against EB/Streymur at Oakwell, Barnsley FC, because of the time required for their City of Manchester Stadium pitch to recover from the summer's event programme

 

For the second time in five years Manchester City gained a UEFA Cup place through the Fair Play League. England finished top of the European Fair Play League and with it a n extra UEFA Cup place. City gained that place by being the highest placed side in the English Fair Play League who had not otherwise qualified for Europe.

   
1st Qualifying Round 
1st Leg Thu Jul 17 EB/Streymur (Faroe Islands) Away Won 2-0
2nd Leg Thu Jul 31 EB/Streymur Home* Won 2-0
Won 4-0 on aggregate.
2nd Qualifying Round 
1st Leg Thu Aug 14 FC Midtjylland (Denmark) Home Lost 0-1
2nd Leg Thu Aug 28 FC Midtjylland Away Won 1-0
Won 4-2 on penalties after finishing 1-1 on aggregate.
1st Round 
1st Leg Thu Sep 18 Omonia Nicosia (Cyprus) Away Won 2-1
2nd Leg Thu Oct 2 Omonia Nicosia Home Won 2-1
Won 4-2 on aggregate.
UEFA Cup Group Stage
Group A Thu Nov 6 Twente Enschede (Holland) Home Won 3-2
Group A Thu Nov 27 Schalke 04 (Germany) Away Won 2-0
Group A Wed Dec 3 Paris St Germain (France) Home Drew 0-0
Group A Thu Dec 18 Racing Santander (Spain) Away Lost 1-3
Round of the Last 32
1st Leg Thu Feb 19 FC Copenhagen (Denmark) Away Drew 2-2
2nd Leg Thu Feb 26 FC Copenhagen Home Won 2-1
Won 4-3 on aggregate.
Round of the Last 16
1st Leg Thu Mar 12 AaB Aalborg (Denmark) Home Won 2-0
2nd Leg Thu Mar 19 AaB Aalborg Away Lost 0-2
Won 4-3 on penalties after finishing 2-2 on aggregate
Quarter-Final
1st Leg Thu Apr 9 Hamburg (Germany) Away Lost 1-3
2nd Leg Thu Apr 16 Hamburg Home Won 2-1
Lost 3-4 on aggregate.