MANCHESTER CITY   2016/17
      Champions League
     
 

 

 

Manchester City qualified for the Champions League after a fourth-place finish in the Premier League in 2015/16.

   
Play Off Round        
1st Leg Tue Aug 16 Steaua Bucharest (Rumania) Away Won 5-0
2nd Leg Wed Aug 24 Steaua Bucharest Home Won 1-0
Won 6-0 on aggregate
Group Stage
Group C Wed Sep 14 Borussia Mönchengladbach (Germany) Home Won 4-0
Group C Wed Sep 28 Celtic (Scotland) Away Drew 3-3
Group C Wed Oct 19 Barcelona (Spain) Away Lost 0-4
Group C Tue Nov 1 Barcelona Home Won 3-1
Group C Wed Nov 23 Borussia Mönchengladbach Away Drew 1-1
Group C Tue Nov 6 Celtic Home Drew 1-1
    Manchester City finished second in the group behind Barcelona and those two clubs qualified for the knock-out stages.
Round of the Last 16
1st Leg Tue Feb 21 Monaco (France) Home Won 5-3
2nd Leg Wed Mar 15 Monaco Away Lost 1-3
  Aggregate 6-6, Manchester City lost on the away goals rule.