MANCHESTER UNITED   2001/02
      Champions League
     
 

 

 

Manchester United qualified for the Champions League following their Premiership Championship success in 2000/01.  

   
Champions League First Group Stage
Group G Tue Sep 18 Lille (France) Home Won 1-0
Group G Tue Sep 25 Deportivo La Coruna (Spain) Away Lost 1-2
Group G Wed Oct 10 Olympiakos (Greece) Away Won 2-0
Group G Wed Oct 17 Deportivo La Coruna Home Lost 2-3
Group G Tue Oct 23 Olympiakos Home Won 3-0
Group G Wed Oct 31 Lille Away Drew 1-1
Manchester United finished second in the Group and qualified for the Second Group Stage.   Full Group results and table.
Champions League Second Group Stage
Group A Tue Nov 20 Bayern Munich (Germany) Away Drew 1-1
Group A Wed Dec 5 Boavista (Portugal) Home Won 3-0
Group A Wed Feb 20 Nantes (France) Away Drew 1-1
Group A Tue Feb 26 Nantes Home Won 5-1
Group A Wed Mar 13 Bayern Munich Home Drew 0-0
Group A Tue Mar 19 Boavista Away Won 3-0
Manchester United won the Group and qualified for the knock-out stages.   Full Group results and table.
Quarter-Final
1st Leg Tue Apr 2 Deportivo La Coruna (Spain) Away Won 2-0
2nd Leg Wed Apr 10 Deportivo La Coruna Home Won 3-2
Won 5-2 on aggregate.
Semi-Final
1st Leg Wed Apr 24 Bayer Leverkusen (Germany) Home Drew 2-2
2nd Leg Tue Apr 30 Bayer Leverkusen Away Drew 1-1
Lost on away goals after finishing 3-3 on aggregate.