MANCHESTER UNITED   2002/03
      Champions League
     
 

* Because of the security situation in Israel the away match against Maccabi was played in Nicosia, Cyprus.

 

Manchester United qualified for the Champions League by finishing third in the Premier Division in 2001/02.   

   
Champions League Third Qualifying Round
1st Leg Wed Aug 14 Zalaegerszeg (Hungary) Away Lost 0-1
2nd Leg Tue Aug 27 Zalaegerszeg  Home Won 5-0
Won 5-1 on aggregate.
Champions League First Group Stage
Group F Wed Sep 18 Maccabi Haifa (Israel) Home Won 5-2
Group F Tue Sep 24 Bayer Leverkusen (Germany) Away Won 2-1
Group F Tue Oct 1 Olympiakos (Greece) Home Won 4-0
Group F Wed Oct 23 Olympiakos Away Won 3-2
Group F Tue Oct 29 Maccabi Haifa Away* Lost 0-3
Group F Wed Nov 13 Bayer Leverkusen Home Won 2-0
Manchester United won the Group and qualified for the Second Group Stage.   Full Group results and table.
Champions League Second Group Stage
Group D Tue Nov 26 Basle (Switzerland) Away Won 3-1
Group D Wed Dec 11 Deportivo La Coruna (Spain) Home Won 2-0
Group D Wed Feb 19 Juventus (Italy) Home Won 2-1
Group D Tue Feb 25 Juventus Away Won 3-0
Group D Wed Mar 12 Basle Home Drew 1-1
Group D Tue Mar 18 Deportivo La Coruna Away Lost 0-2
Manchester United won the Group and qualified for the knock-out stages.   Full Group results and table.
Quarter-Final
1st Leg Tue Apr 8 Real Madrid (Spain) Away Lost 1-3
2nd Leg Wed Apr 23 Real Madrid Home Won 4-3
Lost 5-6 on aggregate.