Manchester United    2016/17
      Europa League
     
     

Manchester United qualified for the Europa League after finishing fifth in the Premier League in 2015/16. Goal difference saw them edged out of fourth spot and a place in the Champions League - the club who pipped them for that important fourth place was Manchester City!

   
Europa League Group Stage
Group A Thu Sep 15 Feyenoord (Belgium) Away Lost 0-1
Group A Thu Sep 29 Zorya Luhansk (Ukraine) Home Won 1-0
Group A Thu Oct 20 Fenerbahçe  (Turkey) Home Won 4-1
Group A Thu Nov 3 Fenerbahçe   Away Lost 1-2
Group A Thu Nov 24 Feyenoord Home Won 4-0
Group A Thu Dec 8 Zorya Luhansk Away Won 2-0
Manchester United finished second in the group to qualify for the knock-out stages.
Round of the Last 32
1st Leg Thu Feb 16 Saint-Etienne (France) Home Won 3-0
2nd Leg Wed Feb 22 Saint-Etienne Away Won 1-0
Won 4-0 on aggregate
Round of the Last 16
1st Leg Thu Mar 9 FC Rostov (Russia) Away Drew 1-1
2nd Leg Thu Mar 16 FC Rostov Home Won 1-0
Won 2-1 on aggregate
Round of the Last 8
1st Leg Thu Apr 13 Anderlecht (Belgium) Away Drew 1-1
2nd Leg Thu Apr 20 Anderlecht Home Won 2-1
Won 3-2 on aggregate
Semi Final
1st Leg Thu May 4 Celta Vigo (Spain) Away Won 1-0
2nd Leg Thu May 11 Celta Vigo Home Drew 1-1
Won 2-1 on aggregate
Final
  Wed May 24 Ajax (Netherlands) Neutral Won 2-0
The final was played at the Friends Stadium in Stockholm.