F.A. Cup
                                                   1871/72  Results
First Round
Byes - Donington School (Spalding), Hampstead Heathens, Queen's Park (Glasgow)
Sat Nov 11 Barnes2-0Civil Service
Sat Nov 11 Crystal Palace0-0*Hitchin
Sat Nov 11 Maidenhead 2-0Great Marlow
Royal Engineers  (walkover) Reigate Priory  (scratched)
Sat Nov 11 Upton Park 0-3Clapham Rovers
Wanderers  (walkover) Harrow Chequers  (scratched)
Second Round
Sat Dec 23 Barnes1-1Hampstead Heathens
Sat Jan 6 Hampstead Heathens 1-0

Barnes

Sat Dec 16 Crystal Palace 3-0Maidenhead
Wed Jan 10 Hitchin 0-5Royal Engineers
Queen's Park  (walkover) Donington School  (scratched)
Sat Dec 16 Wanderers3-1Clapham Rovers
Third Round
Bye - Queen's Park (Glasgow)
Sat Jan 27 Royal Engineers2-0Hampstead Heathens
Sat Jan 20 Wanderers 0-0*Crystal Palace
Semi-Finals (all 3 matches played at the Kennington Oval)
Sat Feb 17 Royal Engineers0-0Crystal Palace
Sat Mar 9 Crystal Palace0-3

Royal Engineers

Tue Mar 5 Wanderers0-0**Queen's Park (Glasgow)

              

Final (at the Kennington Oval)
Sat Mar 16 Wanderers1-0Royal Engineers

*

Following drawn matches between Crystal Palace and Hitchin in Round 1 and Wanderers and Crystal Palace in Round 3 no replay was staged and all the clubs went through to the following round. This was covered by Rule 8 of the competition which stated 'In the case of a drawn match the Clubs shall be drawn in the next ties or shall compete again, at the discretion of the Committee.'

**

After having been given a bye from the Third Round into the Semi's because of travelling distances, Queen's Park scratched rather than play a semi-final replay against Wanderers, being unable to travel to the Kennington Oval again for the second match.

 


For details of every match played
by Premier League and Football League sides
in European competitions

click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk