BOLTON WANDERERS   1888/89  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1888/89

League

22 6 0 5 35 30 4 2 5 28 29 22 5th Table
Sat Sep 8 League Derby County Home Lost 3-6
Sat Sep 15 League Burnley Home Lost 3-4
Sat Sep 22 League Preston North End Away Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 29 League Everton Home Won 6-2
Sat Oct 6 League Burnley Away Lost 1-4
Sat Oct 6 * FAC 1st Qual Hurst Away Drew 0-0**
Sat Oct 13 League Stoke Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 20 League Aston Villa Home Lost 2-3
Sat Oct 27 FAC 2nd Qual West Manchester Away Lost 0-1***
Wed Oct 31 FAC 2nd Q replay West Manchester Home Won 9-0
Sat Nov 3 League Everton Away Lost 1-2
Mon Nov 5 League West Bromwich Albion Away Won 5-1
Sat Nov 10 League Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 2-3
Sat Nov 17 League West Bromwich Albion Home Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 17 * FAC 3rd Qual Linfield Athletic Away Lost 0-4
Sat Nov 24 League Preston North End Home Lost 2-5
Sat Dec 8 League Blackburn Rovers Away Drew 4-4
Sat Dec 22 League Accrington Home Won 4-1
Wed Dec 26 League Derby County Away Won 3-2
Sat Dec 29 League Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 12 League Aston Villa Away Lost 2-6
Sat Jan 19 League Stoke Away Drew 2-2
Sat Jan 26 League Blackburn Rovers Home Won 3-2
Tue Mar 5 League Notts County Away Won 4-0
Sat Mar 9 League Notts County Home Won 7-3
Sat Mar 23 League Accrington Away Won 3-2

* For the first time there were qualifying rounds in the FA Cup with round of entry being decided on previous performance in the FA Cup and not League membership. As a result Bolton (as well as Notts County and Stoke) were required to play in qualifying rounds which meant that on two occasions they were required to play a League match and an FA Cup match on the same day.

** Hurst (who later became Ashton United) withdrew from the competition before the replay giving Bolton a walkover.

*** Match ordered to be replayed.

 

Did You Know.....
..1-5 down, just 10 players, less than half an hour left - but they win 7-6! Full details of this Football League match and other great  fight-backs click on...


Did You Know?

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk