HOME

EVERTON   1888/89  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1888/89

League

22 8 0 3 23 14 1 2 8 12 32 20 8th Table
Sat Sep 8 League Accrington Home Won 2-1
Sat Sep 15 League Notts County Home Won  2-1
Sat Sep 22 League Aston Villa Away Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 29 League Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 2-6
Sat Oct 6 League Aston Villa Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 13 League Notts County Away Lost 1-3
Sat Oct 20 League Derby County Away Won 4-2
Sat Oct 27 League Derby County Home Won 6-2
Sat Nov  3 League Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-1
Sat Nov 10 League Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 0-3
Sat Nov 17 League Burnley Away Drew 2-2
Sat Nov  24 League Burnley Home Won 3-2
Sat Dec 1 League West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 1-4
Sat Dec 15 League Stoke Away Drew 0-0
Sat Dec 22 League Preston North End Away Lost 0-3
Sat Dec 29 League Accrington Away Lost 1-3
Sat Jan 12 League Stoke Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 19 League Preston North End Home Lost 0-2
Sat Jan 26 League Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 0-4
Sat Feb 9 League Wolverhampton W. Home Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 23 League West Bromwich Albion Home Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 30 League Blackburn Rovers Home Won 3-1

In the previous season the Football Association had found Everton guilty of paying money to amateur players who played in an FA Cup-tie and had banned the club from playing football for a month. In protest against that decision Everton withdrew from the FA Cup in season 1888/89. They had been drawn against Ulster in the First Qualifying Round but scratched giving the Irish side a walk-over.

 


"If I had a blank piece of paper there'd be
five names on it.

Kevin Keegan

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk