NOTTS COUNTY   1889/90  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1889/90

League

22 4 3 4 20 19 2 2 7 23 32 17 10th Re-election Position Table
Sat Sep 7 League Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 14 League Aston Villa Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 21 League West Bromwich Albion Home Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 28 League Derby County Away Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 5 League Stoke Home Won 3-1
Sat Oct 12 League Accrington Away Won 8-1
Sat Oct 19 League Everton Home Won 4-3
Sat Oct 26 League Bolton Wanderers Away Won 4-0
Sat Nov 2 League Burnley Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 9 League Aston Villa Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 16 League Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 1-9
Sat Dec 7 League Everton Away Lost 3-5
Sat Dec 14 League Wolverhampton W. Home Lost 0-2
Sat Dec 21 League Derby County Home Won 3-1
Sat Jan 4 League West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 2-4
Sat Jan 11 League Bolton Wanderers Home Lost 3-5
Sat Jan 18 FAC 1 Birmingham St George's Away Drew 4-4
Sat Jan 25 FAC 1 replay Birmingham St George's Home Won 6-2
Sat Feb 1 FAC 2 Aston Villa Home Won 4-1
Sat Feb 15 FAC 3 Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 0-5*
Tue Feb 18 League Blackburn Rovers Home Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 22 FAC 3 replay Sheffield Wednesday Away Won 3-2*
Sat Mar 1 League Preston North End Away Lost 3-4
Mon Mar 3 FAC 3 replay Sheffield Wednesday Neutral Lost 1-2*
Thu Mar 13 League Accrington Home Won 3-1
Sat Mar 15 League Burnley Away Lost 0-3
Mon Mar 24 League Stoke Away Drew 1-1
Thu Mar 27 League Preston North End Home Lost 0-1

* In a Third Round FA Cup tie Sheffield Wednesday defeated Notts County 5-0 at Olive Grove on February 15th in atrocious weather conditions, rain and snow falling before and during the match. County protested about the weather conditions and the state of the pitch and the match was ordered to be replayed at the same venue a week after the original fixture. This match Notts County won 3-2 but Wednesday protested that Notts County had included three ineligible players in their team. That protest was also upheld and a third match was ordered to be played. Sheffield Wednesday won that match, played at the Derbyshire County Cricket Ground, by a 2-1 margin.

 

 

"When you are 4-0 up you should never lose 7-1.
Lawrie McMenemy  

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk