DARWEN  1898/99  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1898/99

Div 2

34 2 4 11 16 32 0 1 16 6 109 9 18th Re-election PositionLeft League Table
Sat Sep 10 Division 2 Lincoln City Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 17 Division 2 Woolwich Arsenal Home Lost 1-4
Sat Sep 24 Division 2 Luton Town Away Lost 1-8
Sat Oct 1 Division 2 Leicester Fosse Home Won 3-0
Sat Oct 8 Division 2 Barnsley Away Lost 0-6
Sat Oct 15 Division 2 Gainsborough Trinity Away Drew 2-2
Sat Oct 22 Division 2 Manchester City Home Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 29 FAC 3rd Qual Wigan County Home Lost 1-5
Sat Nov 5 Division 2 Walsall Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 12 Division 2 Burton Swifts Away Lost 0-4
Sat Nov 26 Division 2 Small Heath Away Lost 0-8
Sat Dec 3 Division 2 Loughborough Home Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 17 Division 2 Grimsby Town Home Lost 0-2
Thu Dec 22 Division 2 New Brighton Tower Away Lost 0-7
Sat Dec 24 Division 2 Newton Heath Away Lost 0-9
Mon Dec 26 Division 2 Leicester Fosse Away Lost 0-4
Sat Dec 31 Division 2 New Brighton Tower Home Lost 2-4
Mon Jan 2 Division 2 Burslem Port Vale Home Lost 1-3
Sat Jan 7 Division 2 Lincoln City Home Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 14 Division 2 Woolwich Arsenal Away Lost 0-6
Sat Feb 11 Division 2 Gainsborough Trinity Home Lost 0-3
Sat Feb 18 Division 2 Manchester City Away Lost 0-10
Sat Feb 25 Division 2 Glossop North End Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 4 Division 2 Walsall Away Lost 0-10
Tue Mar 7 Division 2 Glossop North End Away Lost 0-5
Sat Mar 11 Division 2 Burton Swifts Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 18 Division 2 Burslem Port Vale Away Lost 1-3
Tue Mar 21 Division 2 Barnsley Home Drew 1-1
Sat Mar 25 Division 2 Small Heath Home Drew 1-1
Fri Mar 31 Division 2 Blackpool Away Lost 0-6
Sat Apr 1 Division 2 Loughborough  Away Lost 0-10
Sat Apr 8 Division 2 Blackpool Home Lost 0-2
Tue Apr 11 Division 2 Luton Town Home Won 4-1
Sat Apr 15 Division 2 Grimsby Town Away Lost 2-9
Sat Apr 22 Division 2 Newton Heath Home Drew 1-1

 

'Well, if you really have not heard the good news, I must tell you. Loughborough beat that powerful combination, Woolwich Arsenal, by eight goals - whew! - to none. But that was not all; they had two goals disallowed, one as good a goal as ever was scored, but then we must not be too covetous, eight being pretty conclusive in all conscience'.

Part of the actual match report of the match in 1896 when Arsenal suffered what is still their record League defeat - 0-8 at Loughborough. Read the whole match report.
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk