MIDDLESBROUGH  1926/27  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1926/27

Div 1

42 18 2 1 78 23 9 6 6 44 37 62

1st Promoted Table
Sat Aug 28 Division 2 Chelsea Away Lost 0-3
Mon Aug 30     Division 2 Southampton Away Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 4     Division 2 Preston North End Home Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 11     Division 2 South Shields Away Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 18 Division 2 Hull City Home Won 2-0
Wed Sep 22 Division 2 Bradford City Home Won 4-3
Sat Sep 25 Division 2 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Won 2-1
Wed Sep 29 Division 2 Bradford City Away Won 1-0
Sat Oct 2 Division 2 Notts County Home Won 4-2
Sat Oct 9 Division 2 Clapton Orient Away Won 3-2
Sat Oct 16 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Away Lost 3-4
Sat Oct 23 Division 2 Barnsley Home Won 5-1
Sat Oct 30 Division 2 Darlington Away Won 4-1
Sat Nov 6 Division 2 Portsmouth Home Won 7-3
Sat Nov 13 Division 2 Oldham Athletic Away Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 20 Division 2 Fulham Home Won 6-1
Sat Nov 27 Division 2 Southampton Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 4 Division 2 Blackpool Home Drew 4-4
Sat Dec 18 Division 2 Swansea Town Home Won 7-1
Sat Dec 25 Division 2 Manchester City Away Won 5-3
Mon Dec 27 Division 2 Manchester City Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 1 Division 2 Port Vale Home Won 5-2
Sat Jan 8 FAC 3 Leicester City Home Won 5-3
Sat Jan 15 Division 2 Chelsea Home Drew 0-0
Sat Jan 22 Division 2 Preston North End Away Drew 2-2
Sat Jan 29 FAC 4 Preston North End Away Won 3-0
Sat Feb 5 Division 2 Hull City Away Drew 3-3
Tue Feb 8 Division 2 Grimsby Town Away Won 7-4
Sat Feb 12 Division 2 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Won 2-0
Sat Feb 19 FAC 5 Millwall Away Lost 2-3
Wed Feb 23 Division 2 Notts County Away Drew 2-2
Sat Feb 26 Division 2 Clapton Orient Home Won 6-0
Sat Mar 5 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Home Won 1-0
Sat Mar 12 Division 2 Barnsley Away Drew 1-1
Wed Mar 16 Division 2 South Shields Home Won 5-0
Sat Mar 19 Division 2 Darlington Home Won 4-1
Sat Mar 26 Division 2 Portsmouth Away Won 1-0
Sat Apr 2 Division 2 Oldham Athletic Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 9 Division 2 Fulham Away Won 3-0
Fri Apr 15 Division 2 Port Vale Away Lost 1-3
Sat Apr 16 Division 2 Grimsby Town Home Won 3-0
Wed Apr 20 Division 2 Reading Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 23 Division 2 Blackpool Away Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 30 Division 2 Reading Home Won 5-0
Sat May 7 Division 2 Swansea Town Away Won 1-0
 


The 1926/27 season was a remarkable one for Middlesbrough. Despite only scoring one goal in their first four matches the club went on to score 122 League goals during the season, beating the previous record by 15 goals. George Camsell (pictured) scored 59 of those goals, a feat which also beat the previous record by 15 goals. Ironically both those records were to be bettered the following season. Included in Camsell's 59 goals were nine hat-tricks and a run of scoring in 12 consecutive League matches. That in itself was a remarkable achievement but more remarkable still in those 12 matches he scored an amazing 29 goals -

 
Sat Oct 16   Nottingham Forest Away Lost 3-4  (1 goal)
Sat Oct 23 Barnsley Home Won 5-1  (1 goal)
Sat Oct 30 Darlington Away Won 4-1  (1 goal)
Sat Nov 6 Portsmouth Home Won 7-3  (4 goals)
Sat Nov 13 Oldham Athletic Away Lost 1-2  (1 goal)
Sat Nov 20 Fulham Home Won 6-1  (4 goals)
Sat Nov 27 Southampton Home Won 3-1  (1 goal)
Sat Dec 4 Blackpool Home Drew 4-4  (2 goals)
Sat Dec 18 Swansea Town Home Won 7-1  (4 goals)
Sat Dec 25 Manchester City Away Won 5-3  (5 goals)
Mon Dec 27 Manchester City Home Won 2-1  (2 goals)
Sat Jan 1 Port Vale Home Won 5-2  (3 goals)
 
That's 29 goals in 12 League matches - and in the next match he scored another goal in an FA Cup tie against Leicester City!
               

 

Question:

Earls Park FC - nicknamed the Sparks - was a fictional club in which football-based soap opera broadcast on ITV between 2002 and 2006?

Click for Answer



For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk