BURY  1954/55  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1954/55

Div 2

42 10 5 6 44 35 5 6 10 33 37 41 13th Table
Sat Aug 21 Division 2 Lincoln City Away Lost 2-3
Tue Aug 24 Division 2 Luton Town Home Won 2-1
Sat Aug 28 Division 2 Fulham Home Lost 1-3
Wed Sep 1 Division 2 Luton Town Away Lost 2-3
Sat Sep 4 Division 2 Leeds United Home Won 5-3
Mon Sep 6 Division 2 Rotherham United Away Lost 2-4
Sat Sep 11 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Away Won 3-2
Sat Sep 18 Division 2 Ipswich Town Home Won 2-1
Mon Sep 20 Division 2 Rotherham United Home Drew 2-2
Sat Sep 25 Division 2 Birmingham City Away Won 3-1
Sat Oct 2 Division 2 Middlesbrough Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 9 Division 2 Doncaster Rovers Away Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 16 Division 2 Derby County Home Drew 2-2
Sat Oct 23 Division 2 Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 30 Division 2 Bristol Rovers Home Won 3-1
Sat Nov 6 Division 2 Plymouth Argyle Away Won 4-2
Sat Nov 13 Division 2 Port Vale Home Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 20 Division 2 Swansea Town Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 27 Division 2 Notts County Home Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 4 Division 2 West Ham United Away Drew 3-3
Sat Dec 11 Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 18 Division 2 Lincoln City Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 25 Division 2 Stoke City Away Lost 2-3
Mon Dec 27 Division 2 Stoke City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 1 Division 2 Fulham Away Drew 0-0
Sat Jan 8     FAC 3 Stoke City Home Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 12     FAC 3 replay Stoke City Away* Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 15 Division 2 Leeds United Away Lost 0-1
Mon Jan 17     FAC 3 2nd replay Stoke City Neutral* Drew 3-3
Wed Jan 19     FAC 3 3rd replay Stoke City Neutral* Drew 2-2
Mon Jan 24     FAC 3 4th replay Stoke City Neutral* Lost 2-3
Sat Feb 5 Division 2 Ipswich Town Away Won 3-2
Sat Feb 12 Division 2 Birmingham City Home Lost 0-1
Sat Feb 26 Division 2 Doncaster Rovers Home Lost 1-4
Sat Mar 5 Division 2 Derby County Away Won 3-2
Sat Mar 12 Division 2 Liverpool Home Lost 3-4
Sat Mar 19 Division 2 Bristol Rovers Away Lost 1-2
Sat Mar 26 Division 2 Plymouth Argyle Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 2 Division 2 Port Vale Away Lost 0-1
Fri Apr 8 Division 2 Hull City Home Won 4-1
Sat Apr 9 Division 2 Swansea Town Home Won 2-1
Mon Apr 11 Division 2 Hull City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Apr 16 Division 2 Notts County Away Lost 1-2
Wed Apr 20 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 23 Division 2 West Ham United Home Won 4-1
Wed Apr 27 Division 2 Middlesbrough Away Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 30 Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Away Drew 1-1
                   
 

* After five FA Cup matches which included visits to Anfield, Goodison Park and Old Trafford you might think that Bury must have enjoyed a good cup in in 1954/55. In fact they started out in the Third Round, and were knocked out in the Third Round! In the days before penalty shoot-outs drawn matches were replayed as many as necessary to decide a winner and Bury's 3rd Round tie against Stoke City went to the fourth replay. In total they played 9 hours 22 minutes of football, a record for the competition proper. For the record the Third Round replay at Stoke was abandoned during extra time (after 112 minutes) due to a snowstorm, the 2nd replay was played at Goodison Park, Everton FC, the third replay at Anfield, Liverpool FC, and the 4th replay at Old Trafford, Manchester United FC.

 


"If someone in the crowd spits at you, you have just got to swallow it.

Gary Lineker

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk