STOKE CITY  1954/55  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1954/55

Div 2

42 12 5 4 38 17 9 5 7 31 29 52 5th Table
Sat Aug 21 Division 2 Birmingham City Home Won 2-1
Wed Aug 25 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Away Won 3-0
Sat Aug 28 Division 2 Middlesbrough Away Won 2-1
Mon Aug 30 Division 2 Nottingham Forest Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 4 Division 2 Port Vale Home Drew 0-0
Wed Sep 8 Division 2 Leeds United Away Won 1-0
Sat Sep 11 Division 2 Rotherham United Home Lost 1-2
Mon Sep 13 Division 2 Leeds United Home Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 18     Division 2 Luton Town Away Lost 1-3
Wed Sep 22     Division 2 Ipswich Town Away Won 1-0
Sat Sep 25     Division 2 Hull City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Oct 2     Division 2 Lincoln City Away Won 4-1
Sat Oct 9     Division 2 Notts County Away Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 16     Division 2 Liverpool Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 23     Division 2 West Ham United Away Lost 0-3
Sat Oct 30     Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 6     Division 2 Fulham Away Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 13     Division 2 Swansea Town Home Won 4-1
Sat Nov 27     Division 2 Derby County Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 4     Division 2 Bristol Rovers Away Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 11     Division 2 Plymouth Argyle Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 18     Division 2 Birmingham City Away Lost 0-2
Sat Dec 25     Division 2 Bury Home Won 3-2
Mon Dec 27     Division 2 Bury Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 1     Division 2 Middlesbrough Home Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 8     FAC 3 Bury Away Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 12     FAC 3 replay Bury Home* Drew 1-1
Mon Jan 17     FAC 3 2nd replay Bury Neutral* Drew 3-3
Wed Jan 19     FAC 3 3rd replay Bury Neutral* Drew 2-2
Mon Jan 24     FAC 3 4th replay Bury Neutral* Won 3-2
Sat Jan 29     FAC 4 Swansea Town Away Lost 1-3
Sat Feb 5     Division 2 Luton Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Feb 12     Division 2 Hull City Away Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 19     Division 2 Lincoln City Home Won 4-2
Sat Mar 5     Division 2 Liverpool Away Won 4-2
Sat Mar 12     Division 2 West Ham United Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 19     Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 26     Division 2 Fulham Home Drew 1-1
Mon Mar 28     Division 2 Notts County Home Won 3-0
Sat Apr 2     Division 2 Swansea Town Away Won 5-3
Sat Apr 9     Division 2 Doncaster Rovers Home Won 3-0
Mon Apr 11     Division 2 Ipswich Town Home Won 3-0
Sat Apr 16     Division 2 Derby County Away Won 2-1
Mon Apr 18     Division 2 Rotherham United Away Lost 1-2
Wed Apr 20     Division 2 Doncaster Rovers Away Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 23     Division 2 Bristol Rovers Home Won 2-0
Mon Apr 25     Division 2 Port Vale Away Won 1-0
Sat Apr 30     Division 2 Plymouth Argyle Away Lost 0-2
                   
 

* After six matches clubs can be holding aloft the FA Cup. After six matches in the FA Cup in 1954/55 - including being unbeaten in matches at Everton, Liverpool and Manchester United - Stoke had been beaten in the Fourth Round! In those far-off days before penalty shoot-outs FA Cup ties took as many matches as were needed to decide a winner and against Bury in the Third Round in January 1955 Stoke played 5 matches and a total of 9 hours 22 minutes of football (a record for the competition proper) before beating their Second Division opponents. They were then beaten at the first attempt by Swansea in the 4th Round! For the record the Third Round replay at Stoke was abandoned during extra time (after 112 minutes) due to a snowstorm, the 2nd replay was played at Goodison Park, Everton FC, the third replay at Anfield, Liverpool FC, and the 4th replay at Old Trafford, Manchester United FC.

                   
                   

Question:
Which now demolished Football League ground had three traditional floodlight pylons and then this one, attached to the top of a stand?


Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz