MANCHESTER UNITED    1956/57  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1956/57

Div 1

42 14 4 3 55 25 14 4 3 48 29 64 1st Champs Table
Sat Aug 18 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Drew 2-2
Mon Aug 20 Division 1 Preston North End Away Won 3-1
Sat Aug 25 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Won 3-2
Wed Aug 29 Division 1 Preston North End Home Won 3-2
Sat Sep 1 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Won 3-0
Wed Sep 5 Division 1 Chelsea Away Won 2-1
Sat Sep 8 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Drew 1-1
Wed Sep 12 EC Prelim - 1L Anderlecht Away Won 2-0
Sat Sep 15 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 4-1
Sat Sep 22 Division 1 Manchester City Home Won 2-0
Wed Sep 26

 

EC Prelim - 2L Anderlecht Home* Won

10-0

  (12-0 aggregate)
Sat Sep 29 Division 1 Arsenal Away Won 2-1
Sat Oct 6 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Home Won 4-2
Sat Oct 13 Division 1 Sunderland Away Won 3-1
Wed Oct 17 EC 1 -1 Leg Borussia Dortmund Home* Won 3-2
Sat Oct 20 Division 1 Everton Home Lost 2-5
Wed Oct 24   Charity Shield Manchester City Away Won 1-0   (match details)
Sat Oct 27 Division 1 Blackpool Away Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 3 Division 1 Wolverhampton W. Home Won 3-0
Sat Nov 10 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Nov 17 Division 1 Leeds United Home Won 3-2
Wed Nov 21 EC 1 - 2 Leg Borussia Dortmund Away Drew 0-0   (3-2 aggregate)
Sat Nov 24 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 1 Division 1 Luton Town Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 8 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Won 3-1
Sat Dec 15 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Lost 1-3
Wed Dec 26 Division 1 Cardiff City Home Won 3-1
Sat Dec 29 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Won 3-1
Tue Jan 1 Division 1 Chelsea Home Won 3-0
Sat Jan 5 FAC 3 Hartlepools United Away Won 4-3
Sat Jan 12 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 6-1
Wed Jan 16 EC 2 - 1 Leg Atletico Bilbao Away Lost 3-5
Sat Jan 19 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 26 FAC 4 Wrexham Away Won 5-0
Sat Feb 2 Division 1 Manchester City Away Won 4-2
Wed Feb 6 EC 2 - 2 Leg Atletico Bilbao Home* Won 3-0   (6-5 aggregate)
Sat Feb 9 Division 1 Arsenal Home Won 6-2
Sat Feb 16 FAC 5 Everton Home Won 1-0
Mon Feb 18 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Away Won 5-1
Sat Feb 23 Division 1 Blackpool Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 2 FAC 6 Bournemouth Away Won 2-1
Wed Mar 6 Division 1 Everton Away Won 2-1
Sat Mar 9 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Drew 1-1
Sat Mar 16 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Drew 1-1
Sat Mar 23 FAC Semi Birmingham City Neutral** Won 2-0
Mon Mar 25 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 30 Division 1 Leeds United Away Won 2-1
Sat Apr 6 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Drew 0-0
Thu Apr 11 EC Semi -1L Real Madrid Away Lost 1-3
Sat Apr 13 Division 1 Luton Town Away Won 2-0
Fri Apr 19 Division 1 Burnley Away Won 3-1
Sat Apr 20 Division 1 Sunderland Home Won 4-0
Mon Apr 22 Division 1 Burnley Home Won 2-0
Thu Apr 25 EC Semi - 2L Real Madrid Home Drew 2-2   (3-5 aggregate)
Sat Apr 27 Division 1 Cardiff City Away Won 3-2
Mon Apr 29 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Drew 1-1
Sat May 4 FAC Final Aston Villa Wembley Lost 1-2
* indicates home matches which were played at Maine Road. - Old Trafford didn't have floodlights at the time.

** Manchester United's FA Cup semi-final against Birmingham City was played at Hillsborough Sheffield              Wednesday FC.

 

Manchester United (as Newton Heath) joined the Football League in 1892. For every first team result and League table in the Football League
(and in the Football Alliance prior to joining the Football League)
click on...


 Manchester United

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk