ASTON VILLA   1958/59  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1958/59

Div 1

42 8 5 8 31 33 3 3 15 27 54 30 21st  Relegated Table
Sat Aug 23 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Drew 1-1
Mon Aug 25 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Won 3-2  
Sat Aug 30 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 2-7  
Wed Sep 3 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Lost 2-5  
Sat Sep 6 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Lost 2-3  
Mon Sep 8 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Lost 1-3  
Sat Sep 13 Division 1 Chelsea Away Lost 1-2
Wed Sep 17 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 0-4  
Sat Sep 20 Division 1 Blackpool Home Drew 1-1  
Sat Sep 27 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Away Won 3-2  
Sat Oct 4 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 11 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Lost 1-4  
Sat Oct 18 Division 1 Leeds United Away Drew 0-0  
Wed Oct 22 Division 1 Arsenal Home Lost 1-2  
Sat Oct 25 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-1  
Sat Nov 1 Division 1 Luton Town Away Lost 1-2  
Sat Nov 8 Division 1 Everton Home Lost 2-4  
Sat Nov 15 Division 1 Leicester City Away Lost 3-6  
Sat Nov 22 Division 1 Preston North End Home Won 2-0  
Sat Nov 29 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 1-3  
Sat Dec 6 Division 1 Manchester City Home Drew 1-1  
Sat Dec 13 Division 1 Arsenal Away Won 2-1  
Sat Dec 20 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Lost 1-4  
Fri Dec 26 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 1-2  
Sat Dec 27 Division 1 Manchester United Home Lost 0-2  
Sat Jan 3 Division 1 West Ham United Home Lost 1-2  
Sat Jan 10   FAC 3 Rotherham United Home Won 2-1  
Sat Jan 24   FAC 4 Chelsea Away Won 2-1  
Sat Jan 31 Division 1 Chelsea Home Won 3-1  
Sat Feb 7 Division 1 Blackpool Away Lost 1-2  
Sat Feb 14   FAC 5 Everton Away Won 4-1  
Wed Feb 18 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Home Won 1-0  
Sat Feb 21 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 0-1  
Sat Feb 28   FAC 6 Burnley Home Drew 0-0  
Tue Mar 3   FAC 6 replay Burnley Away Won 2-0  
Sat Mar 7 Division 1 Leeds United Home Won 2-1  
Sat Mar 14   FAC Semi Nottingham Forest Neutral* Lost 0-1  
Wed Mar 18 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Won 3-1  
Sat Mar 21 Division 1 Luton Town Home Won 3-1  
Fri Mar 27 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 2-3  
Sat Mar 28 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 1-2  
Mon Mar 30 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Drew 1-1  
Sat Apr 4 Division 1 Leicester City Home Lost 1-2  
Sat Apr 11 Division 1 Preston North End Away Lost 2-4
Sat Apr 18 Division 1 Burnley Home Drew 0-0
Mon Apr 20 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 25 Division 1 Manchester City Away Drew 0-0
Wed Apr 29 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Drew 1-1
 
* Aston Villa's FA Cup semi-final against Nottingham Forest was played at Hillsborough, Sheffield Wednesday FC.

 


Did You Know.....

that in 1953 over 63,000 fans turned up to watch a Newcastle v Swansea FA Cup tie - and the match was abandoned after 8 minutes!
Read more about this and other abandoned matches...
Click on
Did You Know?

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk