LEICESTER CITY   1960/61  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1960/61

Div 1

42 12 4 5 54 31 6 5 10 33 39 45 6th   Table
Sat Aug 20 Division 1 Blackpool Home Drew 1-1
Wed Aug 24 Division 1 Chelsea Away Won 3-1
Sat Aug 27 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 1-3
Wed Aug 31 Division 1 Chelsea Home Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 3 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Home Lost 2-4
Wed Sep 7 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 2-3
Sat Sep 10 Division 1 Manchester United Away Drew 1-1
Wed Sep 14 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 17 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 24 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Won 3-1
Sat Oct 1 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Won 3-1
Sat Oct 8 Division 1 Arsenal Home Won 2-1
Wed Oct 12   LC 1 Mansfield Town Home Won 4-0
Sat Oct 15 Division 1 Manchester City Away Lost 1-3
Sat Oct 22 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Drew 2-2
Wed Oct 26   LC 2 Rotherham United Home Lost 1-2
Fri Oct 28 Division 1 Cardiff City Away Lost 1-2
Fri Nov 4 Division 1 Preston North End Home Won 5-2
Sat Nov 12 Division 1 Fulham Away Lost 2-4
Sat Nov 19 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 2-1
Sat Nov 26 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Won 2-0
Sat Dec 3 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 10 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 2-3
Sat Dec 17 Division 1 Blackpool Away Lost 1-5
Sat Dec 24 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 0-2
Mon Dec 26 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-0
Sat Dec 31 Division 1 Everton Home Won 4-1
Sat Jan 7   FAC 3 Oxford United Home Won 3-1
Sat Jan 14 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 21 Division 1 Manchester United Home Won 6-0
Tue Jan 31   FAC 4 Bristol City Home Won 5-1
Sat Feb 4 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Won 3-2
Sat Feb 11 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 5-3
Sat Feb 18   FAC 5 Birmingham City Away Drew 1-1
Wed Feb 22   FAC 5 replay Birmingham City Home Won 2-1
Sat Feb 25 Division 1 Arsenal Away Won 3-1
Sat Mar 4   FAC 6 Barnsley Home Drew 0-0
Wed Mar 8   FAC 6 replay Barnsley Away Won 2-1
Sat Mar 11 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 18   FAC Semi Sheffield United Neutral* Drew 0-0
Thu Mar 23   FAC Semi replay Sheffield United Neutral* Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 25 Division 1 Preston North End Away Drew 0-0
Mon Mar 27   FAC SF 2nd replay Sheffield United Neutral* Won 2-0
Fri Mar 31 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 0-1
Sat Apr 1 Division 1 Burnley Home Drew 2-2
Mon Apr 3 Division 1 West Ham United Home Won 5-1
Sat Apr 8 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Drew 2-2
Mon Apr 10 Division 1 Cardiff City Home Won 3-0
Sat Apr 15   Division 1 Fulham Home Lost 1-2
Wed Apr 19   Division 1 Aston Villa Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 22   Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Drew 2-2
Wed Apr 26   Division 1 Manchester City Home Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 29 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Won 3-2
Sat May 6   FAC Final Tottenham Hotspur Wembley Lost 0-2
                 
 

* It took three matches to decide the FA Cup semi-final between Leicester City and Sheffield United - the first match was played at Elland Road (Leeds United FC), the replay at the City Ground (Nottingham Forest FC) and the second replay at St Andrews (Birmingham City FC).

                 

 

Question:
Back in the late 1980's which club got into the Guinness Book of Records when the roof of one of its stands (pictured) with two giant 'Heritage Hampers' ads on it was considered the largest advertising hoarding in the country?


Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz