WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS    1960/61  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1960/61

Div 1

42 17 2 2 61 32 8 5 8 42 43 57 3rd Table
Sat Aug 13   Charity Shield Burnley Away Drew* 2-2  (match details)
Sat Aug 20 Division 1 West Ham United Home Won 4-2
Wed Aug 24 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Won 2-0
Sat Aug 27 Division 1 Chelsea Away Drew 3-3
Wed Aug 31 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 3-1
Sat Sep 3 Division 1 Blackpool Home Won 1-0
Wed Sep 7 Division 1 Leicester City Home Won 3-2
Sat Sep 10 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 1-3
Wed Sep 14 Division 1 Leicester City Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 17 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 24 Division 1 Manchester United Away Won 3-1
Sat Oct 1 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Lost 0-4
Sat Oct 8 Division 1 Cardiff City Home Drew 2-2
Wed Oct 12   ECWC 1 - 1 Leg FK Austria Away Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 15 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Drew 4-4
Sat Oct 22 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 4-1
Sat Oct 29 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Won 2-1
Sat Nov 5 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Won 5-3
Sat Nov 12 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 3-5
Sat Nov 19 Division 1 Preston North End Home Won 3-0
Sat Nov 26 Division 1 Fulham Away Won 3-1
Wed Nov 30   ECWC 1 - 2 Leg FK Austria Home Won 5-0  (5-2 aggregate)
Sat Dec 3 Division 1 Arsenal Home Won 5-3
Sat Dec 10 Division 1 Manchester City Away Won 4-2
Sat Dec 17 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 0-5
Sat Dec 24 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Won 2-0
Mon Dec 26 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Won 3-2
Sat Dec 31 Division 1 Chelsea Home Won 6-1
Sat Jan 7   FAC 3 Huddersfield Town Home Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 11   FAC 3 replay Huddersfield Town Away Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 14   Division 1 Blackpool Away Abandoned**
Sat Jan 21 Division 1 Everton Home Won 4-1
Sat Jan 28 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Won 4-2
Sat Feb 4 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 11 Division 1 Manchester United Home Won 2-1
Wed Feb 22 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 25 Division 1 Cardiff City Away Lost 2-3
Sat Mar 4 Division 1 Blackpool Away Lost 2-5
Wed Mar 8 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 2-1
Sat Mar 11 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 18 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Won 5-1
Sat Mar 25 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Drew 1-1
Wed Mar 29   ECWC SF - 1 Leg Rangers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 1 Division 1 Manchester City Home Won 1-0
Mon Apr 3 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 8 Division 1 Preston North End Away Won 2-1
Sat Apr 15 Division 1 Burnley Home Won 2-1
Wed Apr 19   ECWC SF - 2 Leg Rangers Home Drew 1-1  (1-3 aggregate)
Sat Apr 22 Division 1 Arsenal Away Won 5-1
Sat Apr 29 Division 1 Fulham Home Lost 2-4
                 
 

* The Charity Shield match against Burnley was drawn and the clubs held the trophy for 6 months each -  (match details)


** The Blackpool v Wolves First Division match at Bloomfield Road on Saturday January 14th 1961 was abandoned after 9 minutes play due to fog - match void. That match saw the first Chinese-born player playing in the Football League with Blackpool's Cheung Chi Doy making his first team debut but with the match being voided that achievement was scrubbed from the record books. He did however make his official debut the following Saturday but then played just once more in the first team (scoring a goal against Sheffield Wednesday in November 1961) before moving on from Bloomfield Road.

 

The Football League Cup was played for the first time in the 1960/61 season but Wolves did not enter the competition.

 

Question:
Back in the late 1980's which club got into the Guinness Book of Records when the roof of one of its stands (pictured) with two giant 'Heritage Hampers' ads on it was considered the largest advertising hoarding in the country?


Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz