League Cup
  1962/63  Results
Did not enter - Arsenal, Burnley, Everton, Ipswich Town, Liverpool, Manchester United, Nottingham Forest, Sheffield Wednesday, Tottenham Hotspur, WBA, Wolverhampton Wanderers

First Round

Byes - 49 clubs received byes through the first round of the League Cup, all based on the previous season League placings  - the 11 1961/62 Division 1 sides who entered the competition in 1962/63, all 22 Division 2 sides from 1961/62 and the top 16 Third Division sides at the end of 1961/62.
 

Wed Sep 5 Aldershot 2 -0 Exeter City
Wed Sep 5   Barrow 3 - 2  Workington
Wed Sep 5 Bradford City 2 -2 Doncaster Rovers
Tue Sep 18 Doncaster Rovers 2 - 0

Bradford City

Tue Sep 4 Brentford 3 - 0 Wrexham
Wed Sep 5 Chester 2 - 0 Stockport County
Wed Sep 5 Crewe Alexandra 2 - 3 Oldham Athletic
Wed Sep 5 Darlington 1 - 0 Chesterfield
Thu Sep 13 Halifax Town 2 - 3 Mansfield Town
Thu Sep 6 Hartlepools United 1 - 1 Barnsley
Thu` Sep 13 Barnsley 2 - 1

Hartlepools United

Wed Sep 5 Newport County 2 - 1 Gillingham
Wed Sep 5 Shrewsbury Town 3 - 1 Millwall
Wed Sep 5 Southport 0 - 0 Rochdale
Tue Sep 18 Rochdale 1 - 2

Southport

Mon Sep 3 Torquay United 2 - 0 Oxford United
Mon Sep 3 Tranmere Rovers 2 - 3 Carlisle United
Thu Sep 6 Watford 1 - 2 Colchester United
Wed Sep 5 York City 2 - 2 Lincoln City
Wed Sep 19 Lincoln City 2 - 0

York City

Second Round   
Wed Sep 26 Aldershot 0 - 3 Newport County
Mon Sep 24 Aston Villa 6 - 1 Peterborough United
Tue Sep 25 Barnsley 3 - 2 Grimsby Town
Mon Sep 24 Barrow 3 - 1 Shrewsbury Town
Wed Sep 26 Birmingham City 5 - 0 Doncaster Rovers
Wed Sep 26 Bradford Park Avenue 3 - 1 Huddersfield Town
Wed Sep 26 Brentford 1 - 4 Sheffield United
Tue Sep 25 Brighton & Hove Albion 1 - 5 Portsmouth
Tue Sep 25 Bristol City 1 - 2 Rotherham United
Thu Sep 27   Bristol Rovers 2 - 0  Port Vale
Mon Sep 24 Bury 2 - 2 Lincoln City
Mon Oct 8 Lincoln City 2 - 3

Bury

Wed Sep 26 Cardiff City 5 - 1 Reading
Wed Sep 26 Chester 2 - 2 Mansfield Town
Wed Oct 10 Mansfield Town 0 - 1

Chester

Wed Sep 26 Coventry City 3 - 2 Swansea Town
Wed Sep 26 Derby County 1 - 1 Blackburn Rovers
Tue Oct 2 Blackburn Rovers 3 - 1

Derby County

Wed Sep 26 Fulham 4 - 0 Bournemouth
Mon Sep 24 Hull City 2 - 2 Middlesbrough
Mon Oct 8 Middlesbrough 1 - 1

Hull City

Wed Oct 10 Hull City 3 - 0

Middlesbrough

Wed Sep 26 Leeds United 2 - 1 Crystal Palace
Wed Sep 26 Leicester City 4 - 4 Charlton Athletic
Tue Oct 2 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1

Leicester City

Mon Sep 24 Manchester City 0 - 0 Blackpool
Mon Oct 8 Blackpool 3 - 3

Manchester City

Mon Oct 15 Manchester City 4 - 2

Blackpool

Wed Sep 26 Newcastle United 1 - 1 Leyton Orient
Mon Oct 1 Leyton Orient 4 - 2

Newcastle United

Wed Sep 26 Northampton Town 2 - 0 Colchester United
Wed Sep 26 Norwich City  (holders) 4 - 0 Bolton Wanderers
Mon Sep 24 Queens Park Rangers 1 - 2 Preston North End
Mon Sep 24 Southampton 1 - 1 Scunthorpe United
Tue Oct 2 Scunthorpe United 2 - 2

Southampton

Tue Oct 9 Scunthorpe United 3 - 0

Southampton

(the match was played at London Road, Peterborough United FC)
Wed Sep 26 Southend United 2 - 3 Notts County
Mon Sep 24 Southport 1 - 3 Luton Town
Mon Sep 24 Sunderland 7 - 1 Oldham Athletic
Tue Sep 25 Swindon Town 4 - 0 Darlington
Wed Sep 26 Torquay United 1 - 2 Carlisle United
Tue Sep 25 Walsall 1 - 2 Stoke City
Wed Sep 26 West Ham United 6 - 0 Plymouth Argyle
Third Round
Wed Oct 17 Aston Villa 3 - 1 Stoke City
Tue Oct 16 Barnsley 1 - 2 Luton Town
Mon Oct 15 Barrow 1 - 1 Birmingham City
Mon Oct 29 Birmingham City 5 - 1

Barrow

Wed Oct 17 Blackburn Rovers 4 - 0 Leeds United
Tue Oct 16 Bradford Park Avenue 2 - 2 Charlton Athletic
Tue Oct 23 Charlton Athletic 1 - 0

Bradford Park Avenue

Tue Oct 23 Bristol Rovers 2 - 0 Cardiff City
Tue Oct 23 Bury 3 - 1 Sheffield United
Tue Oct 16 Carlisle United 1 - 1 Norwich City  (holders)
Wed Oct 24 Norwich City  (holders) 5 - 0

Carlisle United

Wed Oct 17 Hull City 1 - 2 Fulham
Wed Oct 17 Leyton Orient 9 - 2 Chester
Wed Oct 24 Newport County 1 - 2 Manchester City
Tue Oct 16 Northampton Town 1 - 1 Preston North End
Mon Oct 29 Preston North End 2 - 1

Northampton Town

Wed Oct 17 Notts County 5 - 0 Swindon Town
Wed Oct 17 Portsmouth 5 - 1 Coventry City
Tue Oct 16 Rotherham United 3 - 1 West Ham United
Wed Oct 17 Sunderland 2 - 0 Scunthorpe United
Fourth Round
Mon Nov 12 Aston Villa 6 - 2 Preston North End
Wed Nov 14 Birmingham City 3 - 2 Notts County
Wed Nov 14 Blackburn Rovers 4 - 1 Rotherham United
Tue Nov 13 Bury 3 - 1 Bristol Rovers
Mon Nov 12 Leyton Orient 3 - 2 Charlton Athletic
Wed Nov 14 Manchester City 1 - 0 Luton Town
Wed Nov 14 Norwich City  (holders) 1 - 0 Fulham
Wed Nov 14 Portsmouth 0 - 0 Sunderland
Wed Nov 21 Sunderland 2 - 1

Portsmouth

Fifth Round
Mon Dec 3 Aston Villa 4 - 1 Norwich City  (holders)
Tue Dec 11 Birmingham City 6 - 0 Manchester City
Mon Dec 3 Leyton Orient 0 - 2 Bury
Wed Dec 5 Sunderland 3 - 2 Blackburn Rovers
Semi-Finals (home and away legs)
Wed Mar 27 Birmingham City 3 - 2 Bury
Mon Apr 8 Bury 1 - 1 Birmingham City
Birmingham City 4-3 on aggregate
Sat Jan 12 Sunderland 1 - 3 Aston Villa
Mon Apr 22 Aston Villa 0 - 0 Sunderland
Aston Villa won 3-1 on aggregate
Final (home and away legs)
Thu May 23 Birmingham City 3 - 1 Aston Villa
Mon May 27 Aston Villa 0 - 0 Birmingham City
Birmingham won 3-1 on aggregate

 


Football League clubs have conceded a century or more of League goals 119 times, the worst being 143 conceded in just 34 Second Division matches. Only once has a club conceded a century of Premier League goals with the worst top flight goals against figure being set by Blackpool (125 in 1930/31) - and they weren't relegated!
To read all the facts and figures for the 100+ goals against clubs...


click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk