League Cup
  1964/65  Results
Did not enter - Arsenal, Burnley, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, Nottingham Forest, Sheffield Wednesday, Tottenham Hotspur, WBA, Wolverhampton Wanderers

First Round

Byes - 46 clubs received byes through the first round of the League Cup, all based on the previous season League placings  - the 12 1963/64 Division 1 sides who entered the competition in 1964/65, all 22 Division 2 sides from 1963/64 and the top 12 Third Division sides at the end of 1963/64.
 

Wed Sep 2 Barnsley 2 -1 Lincoln City
Wed Sep 2   Bradford City 2 - 0  York City
Wed Sep 2 Brentford 0 -2 Southend United
Wed Sep 2 Brighton & Hove Albion 2 - 2 Millwall
Wed Sep 9 Millwall 1 - 0

Brighton & Hove Albion

Wed Sep 2 Chester 3 - 0 Wrexham
Wed Sep 2 Chesterfield 3 - 0 Hartlepools United
Wed Sep 2 Colchester United 1 - 1 Torquay United
Thu Sep 10 Torquay United 3 - 0

Colchester United

Wed Sep 2 Doncaster Rovers 1 - 0 Bradford Park Avenue
Wed Sep 2 Exeter City 2 - 0 Gillingham
Wed Sep 2 Halifax Town 1 - 3 Darlington
Wed Sep 2 Notts County 3 - 2 Newport County
Mon Sep 7 Port Vale 0 - 1 Luton Town
Wed Sep 2 Queens Park Rangers 5 - 2 Aldershot
Wed Sep 2 Southport 0 - 0 Carlisle United
Mon Sep 14 Carlisle United 1 - 0

Southport

Wed Sep 2 Stockport County 1 - 3 Rochdale
Wed Sep 2 Tranmere Rovers 2 - 0 Crewe Alexandra
Wed Sep 2 Walsall 1 - 1 Oxford United
Mon Sep 7 Oxford United 6 - 1

Walsall

Wed Sep 2 Workington 9 - 1 Barrow
Second Round   
Wed Sep 23 Birmingham City 0 - 3 Chelsea
Wed Sep 23 Blackpool 3 - 0 Newcastle United
Wed Sep 23 Bolton Wanderers 1 - 5 Blackburn Rovers
Wed Sep 23 Bournemouth 0 - 2 Northampton Town
Tue Sep 22 Bristol Rovers 0 - 2 Chesterfield
Wed Sep 23 Bury 1 - 0 Darlington
Wed Sep 23 Carlisle United 4 - 1 Bristol City
Wed Sep 23 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1 Middlesbrough
Wed Sep 23 Chester 5 - 4 Derby County
Wed Sep 23   Coventry City 4 - 1  Ipswich Town
Wed Sep 23 Doncaster Rovers 1 - 0 Preston North End
Wed Sep 23 Exeter City 3 - 5 Bradford City
Wed Sep 23 Fulham 2 - 0 Oxford United
Wed Sep 23 Grimsby Town 3 - 1 Oldham Athletic
Tue Sep 22 Hull City 0 - 0 Southend United
Mon Sep 28 Southend United 3 - 1

Hull City

Wed Sep 23 Leeds United 3 - 2 Huddersfield Town
Wed Sep 23 Leicester City  (holders) 0 - 0 Peterborough United
Thu Oct 8 Peterborough United 0 - 2

Leicester City  (holders)

Wed Sep 23 Leyton Orient 3 - 0 Barnsley
Wed Sep 23 Luton Town 0 - 1 Aston Villa
Wed Sep 23 Manchester City 3 - 5 Mansfield Town
Wed Sep 23 Millwall 1 - 2 Norwich City
Wed Sep 23 Plymouth Argyle 2 - 1 Sheffield United
Wed Sep 23 Reading 4 - 0 Queens Park Rangers
Wed Sep 23 Rotherham United 2 - 0 Rochdale
Wed Sep 23 Scunthorpe United 0 - 1 Workington
Wed Sep 23 Southampton 3 - 2 Cardiff City
Wed Sep 23 Stoke City 1 - 1 Shrewsbury Town
Tue Sep 29 Shrewsbury Town 0 - 1

Stoke City

Wed Sep 30 Sunderland 4 - 1 West Ham United
Wed Sep 23 Swansea Town 3 - 1 Swindon Town
Wed Sep 23 Torquay United 1 - 2 Notts County
Wed Sep 23 Tranmere Rovers 0 - 2 Crystal Palace
Tue Sep 22 Watford 2 - 2 Portsmouth
Mon Oct 12 Portsmouth 2 - 1

Watford

Third Round
Wed Oct 14 Bury 0 - 1 Plymouth Argyle
Wed Oct 14 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1 Leyton Orient
Mon Oct 26 Chelsea 4 - 0 Notts County
Wed Oct 14 Chesterfield 3 - 1 Carlisle United
Wed Oct 14 Coventry City 3 - 2 Mansfield Town
Mon Oct 26 Crystal Palace 2 - 0 Southampton
Wed Oct 14 Doncaster Rovers 2 - 3 Bradford City
Mon Oct 19 Grimsby Town 0 - 5 Leicester City  (holders)
Wed Oct 14 Leeds United 2 - 3 Aston Villa
Tue Oct 20 Northampton Town 2 - 1 Portsmouth
Wed Oct 21 Norwich City 5 - 3 Chester
Wed Oct 14 Reading 1 - 1 Fulham
Mon Oct 19 Fulham 1 - 3

Reading

Wed Oct 14 Rotherham United 2 - 2 Swansea Town
Wed Oct 28 Swansea Town 2 - 0

Rotherham United

Wed Oct 14 Stoke City 3 - 1 Southend United
Mon Oct 26 Sunderland 4 - 1 Blackpool
Wed Oct 14 Workington 0 - 0 Blackburn Rovers
Thu Oct 22 Blackburn Rovers 1 - 5

Workington

Fourth Round
Wed Nov 4 Aston Villa 3 - 1 Reading
Wed Nov 4 Charlton Athletic 0 - 1 Bradford City
Wed Nov 11 Chelsea 3 - 2 Swansea Town
Tue Nov 10 Coventry City 4 - 2 Sunderland
Wed Nov 4 Leicester City (holders) 0 - 0 Crystal Palace
Wed Nov 11 Crystal Palace 1 - 2

Leicester City  (holders)

Wed Nov 4 Northampton Town 4 - 1 Chesterfield
Wed Nov 4 Stoke City 1 - 1 Plymouth Argyle
Wed Nov 11 Plymouth Argyle 3 - 1

Stoke City

Wed Nov 4 Workington 3 - 0 Norwich City
Fifth Round
Mon Nov 23 Aston Villa 7 - 1 Bradford City
Tue Dec 1 Coventry City 1 - 8 Leicester City  (holders)
Wed Nov 25 Plymouth Argyle 1 - 0 Northampton Town
Wed Nov 25 Workington 2 - 2 Chelsea
Wed Dec 16 Chelsea 2 - 0

Workington

Semi-Finals (home and away legs)
Wed Jan 20 Aston Villa 2 - 3 Chelsea
Wed Feb 10 Chelsea 1 - 1 Aston Villa
Chelsea won 4-3 on aggregate
Wed Jan 20 Leicester City  (holders) 3 - 2 Plymouth Argyle
Wed Feb 10 Plymouth Argyle 0 - 1 Leicester City  (holders)
Leicester won 4-2 on aggregate
Final (home and away legs)
Mon Mar 15 Chelsea 3 - 2 Leicester City  (holders)
Mon Apr 5 Leicester City  (holders) 0 - 0 Chelsea
Chelsea won 3-2 on aggregate

 


It's rare for a referee to be late arriving at a match but when Mr Kirkham's train was delayed a fixture
between Sunderland and Derby County proved
to be a unique encounter -
The Match of 3 Halves.


The full story - click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk