PLYMOUTH ARGYLE   1972/73  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1972/73

Div 3

46 14 3 6 43 26 6 7 10 31 40 50 8th   Table
Sat Aug 12 Division 3 Rotherham United Away Lost 0-1
Tue Aug 15     LC 1 Bournemouth Home Lost 0-2
Sat Aug 19 Division 3 Southend United Home Won 2-0
Sat Aug 26 Division 3 Chesterfield Away Drew 2-2
Tue Aug 29 Division 3 Grimsby Town Home Won 3-1
Sat Sep 2 Division 3 Brentford Home Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 9 Division 3 Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 16 Division 3 Shrewsbury Town Home Won 3-0
Wed Sep 20 Division 3 Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 23 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Away Lost 0-2
Tue Sep 26 Division 3 Oldham Athletic Home Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 30 Division 3 Walsall Home Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 7 Division 3 Charlton Athletic Away Lost 0-3
Tue Oct 10 Division 3 Scunthorpe United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 14 Division 3 Swansea City Home Won 3-1
Sat Oct 21 Division 3 Bournemouth Away Won 1-0
Tue Oct 24 Division 3 York City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 28 Division 3 Halifax Town Home Won 2-1
Sat Nov 4 Division 3 Oldham Athletic Away Lost 1-7
Sat Nov 11 Division 3 Blackburn Rovers Home Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 18     FAC 1 Hendon Home Won 1-0
Sat Nov 25 Division 3 Port Vale Away Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 2 Division 3 Tranmere Rovers Home Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 9     FAC 2 Yeovil Town Away Won 2-0
Sat Dec 23 Division 3 Watford Away Lost 2-3
Tue Dec 26 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Home Won 3-2
Fri Dec 29 Division 3 Southend United Away Lost 1-3
Sat Jan 13     FAC 3 Middlesbrough Home Won 1-0
Sat Jan 20 Division 3 Brentford Away Won 2-0
Sat Jan 27 Division 3 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 1-0
Sat Feb 3     FAC 4 Leeds United Away Lost 1-2
Tue Feb 6 Division 3 Scunthorpe United Home Won 3-0
Fri Feb 9 Division 3 Shrewsbury Town Away Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 17 Division 3 Rotherham United Home Won 4-1
Tue Feb 20 Division 3 Chesterfield Home Drew 2-2
Sat Feb 24 Division 3 Rochdale Away Won 6-0
Sat Mar 3 Division 3 Charlton Athletic Home Won 5-0
Tue Mar 6 Division 3 Wrexham Home Won 1-0
Fri Mar 9 Division 3 Swansea City Away Drew 1-1
Wed Mar 14     Friendly* Santos (Brazil) Home Won 3-2
Sat Mar 17 Division 3 Bournemouth Home Won 1-0
Wed Mar 21 Division 3 Notts County Away Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 24 Division 3 Halifax Town Away Lost 1-2
Mon Mar 26 Division 3 York City Away Won 2-1
Sat Mar 31 Division 3 Port Vale Home Won 2-1
Fri Apr 6 Division 3 Tranmere Rovers Away Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 14 Division 3 Notts County Home Lost 1-4
Sat Apr 21 Division 3 Wrexham Away Won 2-1
Mon Apr 23 Division 3 Watford Home Drew 1-1
Wed Apr 25 Division 3 Walsall Away Won 3-1
Sat Apr 28 Division 3 Grimsby Town Away Drew 1-1
Tue May 1 Division 3 Rochdale Home Won 3-2

* Only rarely do I include friendly matches in club results but a meeting between Third Division Plymouth and mighty Santos of Brazil - including Pelé  - is always going to be worthy of a mention. But the match almost didn't take place. Minutes before kick-off and with Home Park packed to the rafters with 37,639 fans the Brazilians demanded another £2500 over and above the agreed match fee - or no match. Argyle paid under protest.

Plymouth made the perfect start with a Mike Dowling goal after just three minutes with Derek Rickard and Jimmy Hinch adding two more to gave the Pilgrims a 3-0 lead at the break. The Brazilians produced the magic in the second half with goals from Pelé - a penalty - and Edu but it ended 3-2 to Plymouth. Only a friendly, but surely one of the most memorable matches in their history.

Plymouth Argyle: Furnell (Aleksic), Provan, Sullivan, Hore, Saxton, Hague, Dowling, Rickard; Hinch (Davey), Latcham, Welsh.

Santos: Claudio, Alberto, Murias, Hermes, Leo, Marcal, Jair, Brecha (Pitico), Pitico (Vincente), Alcindo, Pelé, Edu.

                   

Question:
The pictured statue is on the site of a former Football League ground - which ground?


Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz