SCUNTHORPE UNITED  1973/74  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1973/74

Div 3

45 12 7 3 33 17 2 5 16 14 47 42* 18th Table
Sat Aug 25 Division 4 Lincoln City Away Lost 0-1
Wed Aug 29     LC 1 Peterborough United Away Drew 2-2
Sat Sep 1 Division 4 Barnsley Home Won 3-0
Tue Sep 4     LC 1 replay Peterborough United Home Won 2-1
Sat Sep 8 Division 4 Peterborough United Away Lost 0-1
Wed Sep 12 Division 4 Gillingham Away Lost 2-7
Fri Sep 14 Division 4 Crewe Alexandra Home Drew 0-0
Tue Sep 18 Division 4 Bradford City Home Won 2-1
Fri Sep 21 Division 4 Northampton Town Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 29 Division 4 Hartlepool Home Drew 1-1
Wed Oct 3 Division 4 Bradford City Away Lost 1-2
Sat Oct 6 Division 4 Swansea City Away Won 2-1
Tue Oct 9     LC 2 Bristol City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Oct 13 Division 4 Newport County Home Drew 0-0
Tue Oct 16     LC 2 replay Bristol City Away Lost 1-2
Fri Oct 19 Division 4 Colchester United Away Lost 0-2
Tue Oct 23 Division 4 Gillingham Home Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 27 Division 4 Brentford Home Won 4-1
Fri Nov 2 Division 4 Stockport County Away Lost 1-3
Sat Nov 10 Division 4 Chester Home Won 2-1
Tue Nov 13 Division 4 Reading Home Won 1-0
Sat Nov 17 Division 4 Torquay United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 24     FAC 1 Darlington Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 8 Division 4 Mansfield Town Home Won 5-3
Sat Dec 15     FAC 2 Mansfield Town Away Drew 1-1
Tue Dec 18     FAC 2 replay Mansfield Town Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 22 Division 4 Hartlepool United Away Lost 0-3
Wed Dec 26 Division 4 Doncaster Rovers Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 29 Division 4 Peterborough United Home Won 2-1
Tue Jan 1 Division 4 Barnsley Away Lost 0-5
Sat Jan 5     FAC 3 Millwall Away Drew 1-1
Tue Jan 8     FAC 3 replay Millwall Home Won 1-0
Sat Jan 12 Division 4 Crewe Alexandra Away Lost 0-1
Sat Jan 19 Division 4 Lincoln City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 26     FAC 4 Newcastle United Away Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 30     FAC 4 replay Newcastle United Home Lost 0-3
Sun Feb 3 Division 4 Darlington Away Lost 0-3
Sun Feb 10 Division 4 Northampton Town Home Lost 1-2
Sun Feb 17 Division 4 Newport County Away Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 23 Division 4 Swansea City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 2 Division 4 Doncaster Rovers Away Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 9 Division 4 Brentford Away Lost 1-2
Sat Mar 16 Division 4 Colchester United Home Won 1-0
Tue Mar 19 Division 4 Darlington Home Won 1-0
Sat Mar 23 Division 4 Chester Away Lost 0-2
Tue Mar 26 Division 4 Bury Away Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 30 Division 4 Stockport County Home Won 2-1
Tue Apr 2     Division 4 Exeter City Home postponed*
Sat Apr 6 Division 4 Reading Away Drew 0-0
Wed Apr 10 Division 4 Workington Away Won 2-1
Sat Apr 13 Division 4 Torquay United Home Drew 0-0
Mon Apr 15 Division 4 Rotherham United Away Drew 1-1
Tue Apr 16 Division 4 Rotherham United Home Won 3-0
Sat Apr 20 Division 4 Mansfield Town Away Drew 2-2
Mon Apr 22 Division 4 Exeter City Away Lost 0-4
Sat Apr 27 Division 4 Workington Home Lost 0-1
Tue Apr 30 Division 4 Bury Home Lost 1-2
               
 

* A bit of Football League history for Scunthorpe in the 1973/74 season. Their home Division 4 match with Exeter City scheduled for Tuesday April 2nd 1974 was called off by Exeter, without Football League permission, as they did not have enough fit players to raise a team. The match was never played and Scunthorpe were awarded the two points - the only time in Football League history that a season had finished with an unplayed match. Full details.

 


For a really satisfying cigarette that's kind to your throat give me Craven 'A' every time.
'

Amazingly Stanley Matthews - a teetotal vegetarian non-smoker who was fit enough to play in the old First Division at 50 years old once endorsed smoking in adverts! Read all about it, click on....
Those were the days!

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk