CARLISLE  UNITED   1974/75  results

The First Division table had an unusual look about it in the 1974/75 season. No Manchester United, who had been relegated the previous season, but there was Carlisle United who were making their debut in the top flight and in fact led the table after winning their first three matches. It was a penalty from the sporting all-rounder Chis Balderstone (football and cricket) against Spurs on August 24th that put them top - only for a few days but what a few days!. However normal service was soon resumed. Manchester United were back after one season and Carlisle were relegated just as quickly. Not that the Cumbrians gave up easily with sixteen of their League defeats being only by a single goal.

A steady decline followed for Carlisle and on their 30th anniversary of playing in the top flight for the only time Carlisle United were playing in non-league football having been relegated from the Football League in 2003/04.

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1974/75

Div 1

42 8 2 11 22 21 4 3 14 21 38 29 22nd Relegated Table
Sat Aug 17 Division 1 Chelsea Away Won 2-0
Tue Aug 20 Division 1 Middlesbrough Away Won 2-0
Sat Aug 24 Division 1 Tottenham  Hotspur Home Won 1-0
Tue Aug 27 Division 1 Middlesbrough Home Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 31 Division 1 Leicester City Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 7 Division 1 Stoke City Home Lost 0-2
Wed Sep 11 LC 2 Bradford City Away Won 1-0
Sat Sep 14 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 21 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Won 1-0
Tue Sep 24 Division 1 Manchester  City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 28 Division 1 Luton Town Away Lost 1-3
Sat Oct 5 Division 1 Liverpool Home Lost 0-1
Wed Oct 9 LC 3 Colchester United Away Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 12 Division 1 Wolverhampton  Wanderers Away Lost 0-2      
Wed Oct 16 Division 1 Tottenham  Hotspur Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 19 Division 1 Derby County Home Won 3-0
Sat Oct 26 Division 1 Coventry City Away Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 2 Division 1 Sheffield United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 9 Division 1 West Ham United Home Lost 0-1
Sat Nov 16 Division 1 Queens  Park Rangers Away Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 23 Division 1 Leeds United Home Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 30 Division 1 Ipswich Town Away Lost 1-3
Sat Dec 7 Division 1 Arsenal Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 14 Division 1 Chelsea Home Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 21 Division 1 Everton Away Won 3-2
Thu Dec 26 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 28 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 4 FAC  3 Preston North End Away Won 1-0
Sat Jan 11 Division 1 Arsenal Away Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 18 Division 1 Ipswich Town Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 25 FAC 4 West Bromwich Albion Home Won 3-2
Sat Feb 1 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 0-2
Sat Feb 8 Division 1 Sheffield  United Home Lost 0-1
Sat Feb 15 FAC 5 Mansfield Town Away Won 1-0
Sat Feb 22 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Home Lost 1-2
Tue Feb 25 Division 1 Leeds United Away Lost 1-3
Sat Mar 1 Division 1 Leicester City Home Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 8 FAC 6 Fulham Home Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 15 Division 1 Luton Town Home Lost 1-2
Wed Mar 19 Division 1 Manchester City Away Won 2-1
Sat Mar 22 Division 1 Stoke City Away Lost 2-5
Tue Mar 25 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 29 Division 1 Everton Home Won 3-0
Tue Apr 1 Division 1 Burnley Home Won 4-2
Sat Apr 5 Division 1 Coventry City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Apr 12 Division 1 Liverpool Away Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 19 Division 1 Wolverhampton W. Home Won 1-0
Sat Apr 26 Division 1 Derby County Away Drew 0-0

 


"If someone in the crowd spits at you, you have just got to swallow it.

Gary Lineker

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk