F.A. Cup
        1985/86  Results
* denotes non-league club
First Round
Sat Nov 16 Bishop's Stortford*2-2Peterborough United
Wed Nov 20 Peterborough United 3-1

Bishop's Stortford*

Sat Nov 16 Bournemouth 0-0Dartford*
Tue Nov 19 Dartford* 0-2

Bournemouth

Sat Nov 16 Brentford 1-3

Bristol Rovers

Sat Nov 16 Bury 2-0

Chester City

Sat Nov 16 Chelmsford City*1-0Weymouth*
Sat Nov 16 Chorley* 0-2Altrincham*
Sat Nov 16 Dagenham*2-1Cambridge United
Sat Nov 16 Derby County5-1Crewe Alexandra
Sat Nov 16 Enfield*0-2Bognor Regis Town*
Sat Nov 16 Exeter City 2-1Cardiff City
Sat Nov 16 Fareham Town*0-3Maidstone United*
Sat Nov 16 Farnborough Town*  0-4Bath City* 
Sat Nov 16 Frickley Athletic*  1-1Halesowen Town* 
Tue Nov 19 Halesowen Town*  1-3

Frickley Athletic* 

Sat Nov 16 Gillingham3-0Northampton Town
Sat Nov 16 Halifax Town1-3Scunthorpe United
Sat Nov 16 Lincoln City 0-1Blackpool
Sat Nov 16 Macclesfield Town*1-2Hartlepool United
Sat Nov 16 Mansfield Town 1-1Port Vale
Mon Nov 18 Port Vale 1-0

Mansfield Town

Sun Nov 17 Notts County 6-1Scarborough* 
Sat Nov 16 Nuneaton Borough* 2-3Burnley
Sat Nov 16 Plymouth Argyle1-0Aldershot
Sat Nov 16 Reading 1-0Wealdstone*
Sat Nov 16 Rochdale2-1Darlington
Sat Nov 16 Rotherham United 6-0Wolverhampton Wanderers
Sat Nov 16 Runcorn*2-2Boston United*
Wed Nov 20 Boston United* 1-1

Runcorn*

Mon Nov 25 Runcorn* 4-1

Boston United*

Sat Nov 16 Slough Town* 2-2Aylesbury United*
Tue Nov 19 Aylesbury United* 2-5

Slough Town*

Sat Nov 16 Southend United 0-1Newport County
Sat Nov 16 Stockport County0-1Telford United*
Sat Nov 16 Swansea City2-0Leyton Wingate*
Sun Nov 17 Swindon Town0-0Bristol City
Wed Nov 20 Bristol City 4-2

Swindon Town

Sat Nov 16 Tranmere Rovers2-2Chesterfield
Tue Nov 19 Chesterfield 0-1

Tranmere Rovers

Sat Nov 16 VS Rugby* 2-2Orient
Tue Nov 19 Orient 4-1

VS Rugby*

Sat Nov 16 Walsall 7-3Preston North End
Sat Nov 16 Whitby Town* 1-0South Liverpool*
Sat Nov 16 Wigan Athletic 4-1Doncaster Rovers
Sat Nov 16 Windsor & Eton* 1-1Torquay United
Tue Nov 19 Torquay United 3-0

Windsor & Eton*

Sat Nov 16 Wrexham 3-1Bolton Wanderers
Sat Nov 16 Wycombe Wanderers* 2-0Colchester United
Sat Nov 16 Yeovil Town* 2-4Hereford United
Sat Nov 16 York City 0-0Morecambe*
Tue Nov 19 Morecambe* 0-2

York City

Second Round
Sat Dec 7 Blackpool 1-2Altrincham*
Sat Dec 7 Bournemouth 4-1

Dagenham*

Sat Dec 7 Bristol City1-2Exeter City
Mon Dec 9 Derby County6-1Telford United*
Sat Dec 7 Gillingham 6-1Bognor Regis Town*
Sat Dec 7 Hartlepool United 0-1Frickley Athletic*
Sat Dec 7 Newport County 1-1Torquay United
Tue Dec 10 Torquay United 2-3

Newport County

Sat Dec 7 Notts County 2-2Wrexham
Tue Dec 10 Wrexham 0-3

Notts County

Sat Dec 7 Orient2-2Slough Town*
Tue Dec 10 Slough Town* 2-3

Orient

Sat Dec 7 Peterborough United1-0Bath City*
Sat Dec 7 Plymouth Argyle3-0Maidstone United*
Sun Dec 8 Port Vale0-0Walsall
Tue Dec 10 Walsall 2-1

Port Vale

Sat Dec 7 Reading 2-0Hereford United
Sat Dec 7 Rotherham United4-1Burnley
Sat Dec 7 Runcorn* 1-1Wigan Athletic
Tue Dec 10 Wigan Athletic 4-0

Runcorn*

Sat Dec 7 Scunthorpe United 2-2Rochdale
Tue Dec 10 Rochdale 2-1

Scunthorpe United

Sat Dec 7 Swansea City1-2Bristol Rovers
Sat Dec 7 Tranmere Rovers 1-1Bury
Tue Dec 10 Bury 2-1

Tranmere Rovers

Sat Dec 7 Wycombe Wanderers* 2-0Chelmsford City*
Sat Dec 7 York City3-1Whitby Town*
Third Round
Tue Jan 14 Birmingham City 1-2Altrincham*
Sat Jan 4 Bristol Rovers 3-1

Leicester City

Mon Jan 13 Bury 2-0

Barnsley

Mon Jan 13 Carlisle United 1-0

Queens Park Rangers

Sun Jan 5 Charlton Athletic 0-1

West Ham United

Sat Jan 4 Coventry City 1-3

Watford

Mon Jan 6 Crystal Palace 1-2 Luton Town
Sun Jan 5 Everton 1-0 Exeter City
Sat Jan 4 Frickley Athletic* 1-3 Rotherham United
Sat Jan 4 Gillingham 1-1 Derby County
Mon Jan 13 Derby County 3-1

Gillingham

Sat Jan 4 Grimsby Town 3-4 Arsenal
Sat Jan 4 Huddersfield Town 0-0 Reading
Mon Jan 13 Reading 2-1

Huddersfield Town

Sat Jan 4 Hull City 2-2 Plymouth Argyle
Tue Jan 7 Plymouth Argyle 0-1

Hull City

Sat Jan 4 Ipswich Town 4-4 Bradford City
Mon Jan 13 Bradford City 0-1

Ipswich Town

Sat Jan 4 Liverpool 5-0 Norwich City
Thu Jan 9 Manchester United (holders) 2-0 Rochdale
Mon Jan 13 Middlesbrough 1-3 Southampton
Sat Jan 4 Millwall 3-1 Wimbledon
Sat Jan 4 Newcastle United 0-2 Brighton & Hove Albion
Sat Jan 4 Nottingham Forest 1-1 Blackburn Rovers
Mon Jan 13 Blackburn Rovers 3-2

Nottingham Forest

Mon Jan 6 Oldham Athletic 1-2 Orient
Sat Jan 4 Oxford United 1-1 Tottenham Hotspur
Wed Jan 8 Tottenham Hotspur 2-1

Oxford United

Sat Jan 4 Peterborough United 1-0 Leeds United
Sat Jan 4 Portsmouth 2-2 Aston Villa
Mon Jan 13 Aston Villa 3-2

Portsmouth

Mon Jan 13 Sheffield United 2-0 Fulham
Mon Jan 13 Sheffield Wednesday 2-2 West Bromwich Albion
Thu Jan 16 West Bromwich Albion 2-3

Sheffield Wednesday

Sat Jan 4 Shrewsbury Town 0-1 Chelsea
Mon Jan 13 Stoke City 0-2 Notts County
Sat Jan 4 Sunderland 2-0 Newport County
Sat Jan 4 Walsall 1-3 Manchester City
Sat Jan 4 Wigan Athletic 3-0 Bournemouth
Sat Jan 4 York City 2-0 Wycombe Wanderers*
Fourth Round
Sat Jan 25 Arsenal 5-1 Rotherham United
Sat Jan 25 Aston Villa 1-1 Millwall
Wed Jan 29 Millwall 1-0

Aston Villa

Sun Jan 26 Chelsea 1-2 Liverpool
Sat Jan 25 Everton 3-1 Blackburn Rovers
Sat Jan 25 Hull City 2-3 Brighton & Hove Albion
Sat Jan 25 Luton Town 4-0 Bristol Rovers
Sat Jan 25 Manchester City 1-1 Watford
Mon Feb 3 Watford 0-0

Manchester City

Thu Feb 6 Manchester City 1-3

Watford

Sat Jan 25 Notts County 1-1 Tottenham Hotspur
Wed Jan 29 Tottenham Hotspur 5-0

Notts County

Sat Jan 25 Peterborough United 1-0 Carlisle United
Sat Jan 25 Reading 1-1 Bury
Tue Jan 28 Bury 3-0

Reading

Sat Jan 25 Sheffield United 0-1 Derby County
Sat Jan 25 Sheffield Wednesday 5-0 Orient
Sat Jan 25 Southampton 3-0 Wigan Athletic
Sat Jan 25 Sunderland 0-0 Manchester United (holders)
Wed Jan 29 Manchester United (holders) 3-0

Sunderland

Sat Jan 25 West Ham United 0-0 Ipswich Town
Tue Feb 4 Ipswich Town 1-1

West Ham United

Thu Feb 6 Ipswich Town 0-1

West Ham United

Sat Jan 25 York City 2-0 Altrincham*
Fifth Round
Wed Feb 26 Derby County 1-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Wed Mar 5 Sheffield Wednesday 2-0

Derby County

Sat Feb 15 Luton Town 2-2 Arsenal
Mon Mar 3 Arsenal 0-0

Luton Town

Wed Mar 5 Luton Town 3-0

Arsenal

Sat Feb 15 Peterborough United 2-2 Brighton & Hove Albion
Mon Mar 3 Brighton & Hove Albion 1-0

Peterborough United

Sat Feb 15 Southampton 0-0 Millwall
Wed Mar 5 Millwall 0-1

Southampton

Tue Mar 4 Tottenham Hotspur 1-2 Everton
Wed Mar 5 Watford 1-1 Bury
Sat Mar 8 Bury 0-3

Watford

Wed Mar 5 West Ham United 1-1 Manchester United (holders)
Sun Mar 9 Manchester United (holders) 0-2

West Ham United

Sat Feb 15 York City 1-1 Liverpool
Tue Feb 18 Liverpool 3-1

York City

Sixth Round
Sat Mar 8 Brighton & Hove Albion 0-2 Southampton
Tue Mar 11 Liverpool 0-0 Watford
Mon Mar 17 Watford 1-2

Liverpool

Sat Mar 8 Luton Town 2-2 Everton
Wed Mar 12 Everton 1-0

Luton Town

Wed Mar 12 Sheffield Wednesday 2-1 West Ham United
Semi-Finals
Sat Apr 5 Everton 2-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Played at Villa Park, Aston Villa FC
Sat Apr 5 Liverpool 2-0 Southampton
Played at White Hart Lane, Tottenham Hotspur FC
Final   Played at Wembley Stadium, London
Sat May 10 Liverpool 3-1 Everton 

Aston Villa
were founder members of the Football League in 1888. For every one first team results and League tables
click on...

Aston Villa
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk