GILLINGHAM  1987/88  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1987/88

Div 3

46 8 9 6 45 21 6 8 9 32 40 59 13th Table
Sat Aug 15 Division 3 Blackpool Home Drew 0-0
Tue Aug 18 LC 1 - 1 Leg Brighton & Hove Albion Home Won 1-0
Sat Aug 22 Division 3 Grimsby Town Away Lost 0-2
Wed Aug 26 LC 1 - 2 Leg Brighton & Hove Albion Away Lost 0-1

 (aggregate 1-1*)

Sat Aug 29 Division 3 Southend United Home Won 8-1
Mon Aug 31 Division 3 Wigan Athletic Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 5 Division 3 Chesterfield Home Won 10-0
Sat Sep 12 Division 3 Fulham Away Won 2-0
Tue Sep 15 Division 3 Sunderland Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 19 Division 3 York City Home Won 3-1
Tue Sep 22 LC 2 - 1 Leg Stoke City Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 26 Division 3 Bristol City Away Drew 3-3
Tue Sep 29 Division 3 Chester City Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 3 Division 3 Doncaster Rovers Away Lost 2-4
Tue Oct 6 LC 2 - 2 Leg Stoke City Home Lost 0-1 

 (0-3 aggregate)

Sat Oct 10 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Home Won 3-0
Sat Oct 17 Division 3 Mansfield Town Away Drew 2-2
Tue Oct 20 Division 3 Preston North End Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 24 Division 3 Notts County Home Won 3-1
Sat Oct 31 Division 3 Port Vale Away Drew 0-0
Tue Nov 3 Division 3 Brentford Home Lost 0-1
Sat Nov 7 Division 3 Brighton & Hove Albion Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 14 FAC 1 Fulham Home Won 2-1
Sat Nov 21 Division 3 Northampton Town Away Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 28 Division 3 Bury Home Drew 3-3
Sat Dec 5 FAC 2 Walsall Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 12 Division 3 Rotherham United Away Won 2-1
Fri Dec 18 Division 3 Walsall Home Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 26 Division 3 Bristol City Home Drew 1-1
Mon Dec 28 Division 3 Aldershot Away Lost 0-6
Fri Jan 1 Division 3 Southend United Away Won 3-1
Sat Jan 2 Division 3 Fulham Home Drew 2-2
Sat Jan 9 FAC 3 Birmingham City Home Lost 0-3
Sat Jan 16 Division 3 York City Away Won 2-0
Sat Jan 23 Division 3 Wigan Athletic Home Lost 0-1
Sat Jan 30 Division 3 Sunderland Away Lost 1-2
Tue Feb 2 Division 3 Grimsby Town Home Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 6 Division 3 Chesterfield Away Won 4-1
Sat Feb 13 Division 3 Aldershot Home Won 2-1
Sat Feb 20 Division 3 Blackpool Away Drew 3-3
Sat Feb 27 Division 3 Doncaster Rovers Home Won 3-1
Wed Mar 2 Division 3 Chester City Away Lost 1-3
Sat Mar 5 Division 3 Mansfield Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 12 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 19 Division 3 Port Vale Home Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 26 Division 3 Notts County Away Won 1-0
Sat Apr 2 Division 3 Brighton & Hove Albion Away Lost 0-2
Mon Apr 4 Division 3 Northampton Town Home Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 9 Division 3 Brentford Away Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 23 Division 3 Preston North End Home Won 4-0
Sat Apr 30 Division 3 Bury Away Lost 1-2
Mon May 2 Division 3 Rotherham United Home Lost 0-2
Sat May 7 Division 3 Walsall Away Drew 0-0
* After finishing their League Cup First Round tie against Brighton 1-1 on aggregate, Gillingham progressed to the Second Round 5-4 on penalties.
   

 

'Well, if you really have not heard the good news, I must tell you. Loughborough beat that powerful combination, Woolwich Arsenal, by eight goals - whew! - to none. But that was not all; they had two goals disallowed, one as good a goal as ever was scored, but then we must not be too covetous, eight being pretty conclusive in all conscience'.

Part of the actual match report of the match in 1896 when Arsenal suffered what is still their record League defeat - 0-8 at Loughborough. Read the whole match report.
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk