EVERTON   1996/97  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1996/97

Prem

38 7 4 8 24 22 3 8 8 20 35 42 15th Table
Sat Aug 17 Premier Newcastle United Home Won 2-0
Wed Aug 21 Premier Manchester United Away Drew 2-2
Sat Aug 24 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Away Drew 0-0
Wed Sep 4 Premier Aston Villa Home Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 7 Premier Wimbledon Away Lost 0-4
Sat Sep 14 Premier Middlesbrough Home Lost 1-2
Wed Sep 18 LC 2 - 1 Leg York City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 21 Premier Blackburn Rovers Away Drew 1-1
Tue Sep 24 LC 2 - 2 Leg York City Away Lost 2-3 (3-4 aggregate)
Sat Sep 28 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 12 Premier West Ham United Home Won 2-1
Mon Oct 28 Premier Nottingham Forest Away Won 1-0
Mon Nov 4 Premier Coventry City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 16 Premier Southampton Home Won 7-1
Wed Nov 20 Premier Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 23 Premier Leicester City Away Won 2-1
Sat Nov 30 Premier Sunderland Home Lost 1-3
Sat Dec 7 Premier Chelsea Away Drew 2-2
Mon Dec 16 Premier Derby County Away Won 1-0
Sat Dec 21 Premier Leeds United Home Drew 0-0
Thu Dec 26 Premier Middlesbrough Away Lost 2-4
Sat Dec 28 Premier Wimbledon Home Lost 1-3
Wed Jan 1 Premier Blackburn Rovers Home Lost 0-2
Sun Jan 5 FAC 3 Swindon Town Home Won 3-0
Sat Jan 11 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 1-2
Sun Jan 19 Premier Arsenal Away Lost 1-3
Sat Jan 25 FAC 4 Bradford City Home Lost 2-3
Wed Jan 29 Premier Newcastle United Away Lost 1-4
Sat Feb 1 Premier Nottingham Forest Home Won 2-0
Sat Feb 22 Premier Coventry City Away Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 1 Premier Arsenal Home Lost 0-2
Wed Mar 5 Premier Southampton Away Drew 2-2
Sat Mar 8 Premier Leeds United Away Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 15 Premier Derby County Home Won 1-0
Sat Mar 22 Premier Manchester United Home Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 5 Premier Aston Villa Away Lost 1-3
Wed Apr 9 Premier Leicester City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 12 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 1-0
Wed Apr 16 Premier Liverpool Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 19 Premier West Ham United Away Drew 2-2
Sat May 3 Premier Sunderland Away Lost 0-3
Sun May 11 Premier Chelsea Home Lost 1-2

 

'Well, if you really have not heard the good news, I must tell you. Loughborough beat that powerful combination, Woolwich Arsenal, by eight goals - whew! - to none. But that was not all; they had two goals disallowed, one as good a goal as ever was scored, but then we must not be too covetous, eight being pretty conclusive in all conscience'.

Part of the actual match report of the match in 1896 when Arsenal suffered what is still their record League defeat - 0-8 at Loughborough. Read the whole match report.
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk