CHELSEA   1999/2000  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1999/00

Prem

38 12 5 2 35 12 6 6 7 18 22 65 5th Table
Sat Aug 7 Premier Sunderland Home Won 4-0
Wed Aug 11 CL 3rd Qual - 1L Skonto Riga Home Won 3-0
Sat Aug 14 Premier Leicester City Away Drew 2-2
Sat Aug 21 Premier Aston Villa Home Won 1-0
Wed Auig 25 CL 3rd Qual - 2L Skonto Riga Away Drew 0-0 (3-0 aggregate)
Sat Aug 28 Premier Wimbledon Away Won 1-0
Sat Sep 11 Premier Newcastle United Home Won 1-0
Wed Sep 15 CL 1st Group H AC Milan Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 18 Premier Watford Away Lost 0-1
Tue Sep 21 CL 1st Group H Hertha Berlin Away Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 25 Premier Middlesbrough Away Won 1-0
Tue Sep 28 CL 1st Group H Galatasaray Home Won 1-0
Sun Oct 3 Premier Manchester United Home Won 5-0
Wed Oct 13 LC 3 Huddersfield Town Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 16 Premier Liverpool Away Lost 0-1
Wed Oct 20 CL 1st Group H Galatasaray Away Won 5-0
Sat Oct 23 Premier Arsenal Home Lost 2-3
Tue Oct 26 CL 1st Group H AC Milan Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 30 Premier Derby County Away Lost 1-3
Wed Nov 3 CL 1st Group H Hertha Berlin Home Won 2-0  (table)
Sun Nov 7 Premier West Ham United Home Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 20 Premier Everton Away Drew 1-1
Wed Nov 24 CL 2nd Group D Feyenoord Home Won 3-1
Sun Nov 28 Premier Bradford City Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 4 Premier Sunderland Away Lost 1-4
Tue Dec 7 CL 2nd Group D Lazio Away Drew 0-0
Sat Dec 11 FAC 3 Hull City Away Won 6-1
Sun Dec 19 Premier Leeds United Home Lost 0-2
Sun Dec 26 Premier Southampton Away Won 2-1
Wed Dec 29 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 3-0*
Tue Jan 4 Premier Coventry City Away Drew 2-2
Sat Jan 8 Premier Bradford City Away Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 12 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 1-0
Sat Jan 15 Premier Leicester City Home Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 19 FAC 4 Nottingham Forest Home Won 2-0
Sat Jan 22 Premier Aston Villa Away Drew 0-0
Sun Jan 30 FAC 5 Leicester City Home Won 2-1
Sat Feb 5 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Away Won 1-0
Sat Feb 12 Premier Wimbledon Home Won 3-1
Sun Feb 20 FAC 6 Gillingham Home Won 5-0
Sat Feb 26 Premier Watford Home Won 2-1
Tue Feb 29 CL 2nd Group D Marseille Away Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 4 Premier Newcastle United Away Won 1-0
Wed Mar 8 CL 2nd Group D Marseille Home Won 1-0
Sat Mar 11 Premier Everton Home Drew 1-1
Tue Mar 14 CL 2nd Group D Feyenoord Away Won 3-1
Sat Mar 18 Premier West Ham United Away Drew 0-0
Wed Mar 22 CL 2nd Group D Lazio Home Lost 1-2   (table)
Sat Mar 25 Premier Southampton Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 1 Premier Leeds United Away Won 1-0
Wed Apr 5 CL QF - 1 Leg Barcelona Home Won 3-1
Sun Apr 9 FAC Semi Final Newcastle United Wembley Won 2-1
Wed Apr 12 Premier Coventry City Home Won 2-1
Sat Apr 15 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 0-1
Tue Apr 18 CL QF - 2 Leg Barcelona Away Lost 1-5 (4-6 aggregate)
Sat Apr 22 Premier Middlesbrough Home Drew 1-1
Mon Apr 24 Premier Manchester United Away Lost 2-3
Sat Apr 29 Premier Liverpool Home Won 2-0
Sat May 6 Premier Arsenal Away Lost 1-2
Sun May 14 Premier Derby County Home Won 4-0
Sat May 20 FAC Final Aston Villa Wembley Won 1-0
 


*
There was a time when a 'foreign' player in the League was from Scotland, Ireland or Wales but on Boxing Day 1999 at the Dell, Southampton, in the Premier League Chelsea fielded the first team in the League to consist entirely of non-British players. The starting line-up that day -

Ed de Goey
(Netherlands), Albert Ferrer (Spain), Celestine Babayaro (Nigeria), Emerson Thome (Brazil), Franck Leboeuf (France), Dan Petrescu (Romania), Didier Deschamps (France), Roberto di Matteo (Italy), Gabriele Ambrosetti (Italy), Gus Poyet (Uruguay), and Tore Andre Flo (Norway).

Their manager was Gianluca Vialli of Italy who said of the foreign legion 'As long as we talk the same language on the pitch that's all that matters.' At least they had English subs that day!

                   

 


For all past winners of the 
Footballer of the Year and Player of the Year
awards

click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk