NEWTON HEATH (now Manchester United)    1892/93 results

 

Home

Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos
1892/93

Div 1

30 6 3 6 39 35 0 3 12 11 50 18 16th Play Off Table
Sat Sep 3 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 3-4
Sat Sep 10 Division 1 Burnley Home Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 17 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 1-4
Sat Sep 24 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 0-6
Sat Oct 1 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Drew 0-0
Sat Oct 8 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Lost 2-4
Sat Oct 15 Division 1 Wolverhampton W. Home Won 10-1
Wed Oct 19 Division 1 Everton Home Lost 3-4
Sat Oct 22 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 29 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 5 Division 1 Blackburn Rovers Home Drew 4-4
Sat Nov 12 Division 1 Notts County Home Lost 1-3
Sat Nov 19 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Won 2-0
Sat Nov 26 Division 1 Accrington Away Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 3 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 1-4
Sat Dec 10 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 17 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Dec 24 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Lost 1-5
Mon Dec 26 Division 1 Preston North End Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 31 Division 1 Derby County Home Won 7-1
Sat Jan 7 Division 1 Stoke Away Lost 1-7 *
Sat Jan 14 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Lost 1-3
Sat Jan 21 FAC 1 Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 0-4
Thu Jan 26 Division 1 Notts County Away Lost 0-4
Sat Feb 11 Division 1 Derby County Away Lost 1-5
Sat Mar 4 Division 1 Sunderland Home Lost 0-5
Mon Mar 6 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Lost 0-2
Fri Mar 31 Division 1 Stoke Home Won 1-0
Sat Apr 1 Division 1 Preston North End Home Won 2-1
Tue Apr 4 Division 1 Sunderland Away Lost 0-6
Sat Apr 8 Division 1 Accrington Home Drew 3-3
Sat Apr 22 Test Match Small Heath Neutral** Drew 1-1
Thu Apr 27 Test rep. Small Heath Neutral** Won 5-2

* Newton Heath played the match at Stoke a man short after goalkeeper Jimmy Warner missed the train forcing centre-half Willie Stewart to play between the posts.

** The Play Off match against Division 2 top side Small Heath (now Birmingham City) was staged at the Victoria Ground, Stoke, and the replay at Bramall Lane, Sheffield. As a result of their victory Newton Heath remained in Division 1 for the 1893/94 season. 

 

Manchester United (as Newton Heath) joined the Football League in 1892. For every first team result and League table in the Football League
(and in the Football Alliance prior to joining the Football League)
click on...


 Manchester United

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk