CHELSEA   1987/88  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1987/88

Div 1

40 7 11 2 24 17 2 4 14 26 51 42 18th Relegated Table
Sat Aug 15 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 2-1
Tue Aug 18 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Won 3-0
Sat Aug 22 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 29 Division 1 Luton Town Home Won 3-0
Mon Aug 31 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 5 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Won 4-3
Sat Sep 12 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Away Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 19 Division 1 Norwich City Home Won 1-0
Wed Sep 23 LC 2 - 1 Leg Reading Away Lost 1-3
Sat Sep 26 Division 1 Watford Away Won 3-0
Sat Oct 3 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Drew 2-2
Wed Oct 7 LC 2 - 2 Leg Reading Home Won 3-2   (4-5 aggregate)
Sat Oct 10 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 1-4
Sat Oct 17 Division 1 Coventry City Home Won 1-0
Sat Oct 24 Division 1 Southampton Away Lost 0-3
Sat Oct 31 Division 1 Oxford United Home Won 2-1
Tue Nov 3 Division 1 Arsenal Away Lost 1-3
Sun Nov 22 Division 1 Derby County Away Lost 0-2
Sat Nov 28 Division 1 Wimbledon Home Drew 1-1
Sun Dec 6 Division 1 Liverpool Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 12 Division 1 West Ham United Home Drew 1-1
Sun Dec 20 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Away Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 26 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Home Drew 1-1
Mon Dec 28 Division 1 Norwich City Away Lost 0-3
Fri Jan 1 Division 1 Luton Town Away Lost 0-3
Sat Jan 2 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Drew 0-0
Sat Jan 9 FAC 3 Derby County Away Won 3-1
Sat Jan 16 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 0-3
Sat Jan 23 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Drew 0-0
Sat Jan 30 FAC 4 Manchester United Away Lost 0-2
Sat Feb 6 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Lost 2-3
Sat Feb 13 Division 1 Manchester United Home Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 27 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 1-3
Sat Mar 5 Division 1 Coventry City Away Drew 3-3
Sat Mar 12 Division 1 Everton Home Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 19 Division 1 Oxford United Away Drew 4-4
Sat Mar 26 Division 1 Southampton Home Lost 0-1
Tue Mar 29 Division 1 Watford Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 2 Division 1 Arsenal Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 9 Division 1 Derby County Home Won 1-0
Sat Apr 23 Division 1 Wimbledon Away Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 30 Division 1 Liverpool Home Drew 1-1
Mon May 2 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 1-4
Sat May 7 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Home Drew 1-1
Sun May 15 PO SF - 1 Leg Blackburn Rovers Away Won 2-0
Wed May 18 PO SF - 2 Leg Blackburn Rovers Home Won  4-1   (6-1 aggregate)
Wed May 25 PO Final - 1 Leg Middlesbrough Away Lost 0-2
Sat May 28 PO Final - 2 Leg Middlesbrough Home Won 1-0   (1-2 aggregate*)
* Unlike current play-offs, in seasons 1986/87 and 1987/88 the four teams in each divisional play-off comprised 3 clubs from the lower division who were competing for promotion plus one from the higher division who were aiming to avoid relegation. Chelsea were that team from the First Division who were trying to avoid being relegated but their play off final defeat against Middlesbrough condemned them to the Second Division.

 

Question:

In May 1996 what brought together Dixie Dean, Bobby Moore, Duncan Edwards, Billy Wright and Danny Blanchflower?   

Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk