HOME

LUTON TOWN   1987/88  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1987/88

Div 1

40 11 6 3 40 21 3 5 12 17 37 53 9th Table
Sat Aug 15 Division 1 Derby County Away Lost 0-1
Tue Aug 18 Division 1 Coventry City Home Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 22 Division 1 West Ham United Home Drew 2-2
Sat Aug 29 Division 1 Chelsea Away Lost 0-3
Mon Aug 31 Division 1 Arsenal Home Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 5 Division 1 Oxford United Away Won 5-2
Sat Sep 12 Division 1 Everton Home Won 2-1
Sat Sep 19 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Away Lost 0-1
Tue Sep 22     LC 2 - 1 Leg Wigan Athletic Away Won 1-0
Sat Sep 26 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Away Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 3 Division 1 Manchester United Home Drew 1-1
Tue Oct 6     LC 2 - 2 Leg Wigan Athletic Home Won 4-2  (5-2 aggregate)
Sat Oct 10 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Lost 1-3
Sat Oct 17 Division 1 Wimbledon Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 24 Division 1 Liverpool Home Lost 0-1
Tue Oct 27     LC 3 Coventry City Home* Won 3-1
Sat Nov 7 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 4-0
Sat Nov 14 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Away Won 2-0
Tue Nov 17     LC 4 Ipswich Town Away Won 1-0
Sat Nov 21 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 2-0
Sat Dec 5 Division 1 Norwich City Home Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 12 Division 1 Watford Away Won 1-0
Fri Dec 18 Division 1 Southampton Home Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 26 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 0-2
Mon Dec 28 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Home Won 1-0
Fri Jan 1 Division 1 Chelsea Home Won 3-0
Sat Jan 2 Division 1 West Ham United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 9     FAC 3 Hartlepool United Away Won 2-1
Sat Jan 16 Division 1 Derby County Home Won 1-0
Tue Jan 19     LC 5 Bradford City Home Won 2-0
Sat Jan 30     FAC 4 Southampton Home Won 2-1
Sat Feb 6 Division 1 Oxford United Home Won 7-4
Wed Feb 10     LC SF - 1 Leg Oxford United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 13 Division 1 Arsenal Away Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 20     FAC 5 Queens Park Rangers Away Drew 1-1
Wed Feb 24     FAC 5 replay Queens Park Rangers Home Won 1-0
Sun Feb 28     LC SF - 2 Leg Oxford United Home Won 2-0  (3-1 aggregate)
Sat Mar 5 Division 1 Wimbledon Away Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 12     FAC 6 Portsmouth Home Won 3-1
Tue Mar 15 Division 1 Coventry City Away Lost 0-4
Tue Mar 29 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Won 4-1
Sat Apr 2 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 0-4
Tue Apr 5 Division 1 Sheffield Wednesday Home Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 9     FAC Semi Wimbledon Neutral** Lost 1-2
Tue Apr 12 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 0-3
Tue Apr 19 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Home Won 2-1
Sun Apr 24     LC Final Arsenal Wembley Won 3-2
Sat Apr 30 Division 1 Norwich City Away Drew 2-2
Mon May 2 Division 1 Watford Home Won 2-1
Wed May 4 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 1-2
Sat May 7 Division 1 Southampton Away Drew 1-1
Mon May 9 Division 1 Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Fri May 13     Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Drew 1-1
Sun May 15     Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Drew 1-1
                 
   Due to Luton's ban on away supporters the Littlewoods Cup (League Cup) the 3rd Round 'home' tie was switched to Leicester City's Filbert Street ground.

** Luton's FA Cup semi-final against Wimbledon was played at White Hart Lane, Tottenham Hotspur FC.

                 

 


"
You can't say my team aren't winners. They've proved that by finishing fourth, third and second in the past three seasons."
Gerard Houllier, showing that Liverpool weren’t winners!

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk