NEWCASTLE UNITED   1996/97  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1996/97

Prem

38 13 3 3 54 20 6 8 5 19 20 68 2nd Table
Sat Aug 17 Premier Everton Away Lost 0-2
Wed Aug 21 Premier Wimbledon Home Won 2-0
Sat Aug 24 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Home Lost 1-2
Wed Sep 4 Premier Sunderland Away Won 2-1
Sat Sep 7 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Away Won 2-1
Tue Sep 10 UEFA 1 - 1 Leg Halmstad Home Won 4-0
Sat Sep 14 Premier Blackburn Rovers Home Won 2-1
Sat Sep 21 Premier Leeds United Away Won 1-0
Tue Sep 24 UEFA 1 - 2 Leg Halmstad Away Lost 1-2  (5-2 aggregate)
Mon Sep 30 Premier Aston Villa Home Won 4-3
Sat Oct 12 Premier Derby County Away Won 1-0
Tue Oct 15 UEFA 2 - 1 Leg Ferencvaros Away Lost 2-3
Sun Oct 20 Premier Manchester United Home Won 5-0
Wed Oct 23 LC 3 Oldham Athletic Home Won 1-0
Sat Oct 26 Premier Leicester City Away Lost 0-2
Tue Oct 29 UEFA 2 - 2 Leg Ferencvaros Home Won 4-0  (6-3 aggregate)
Sun Nov 3 Premier Middlesbrough Home Won 3-1
Sat Nov 16 Premier West Ham United Home Drew 1-1
Tue Nov 19 UEFA 3 - 1 Leg Metz Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 23 Premier Chelsea Away Drew 1-1
Wed Nov 27 LC 4 Middlesbrough Away Lost 1-3
Sat Nov 30 Premier Arsenal Home Lost 1-2
Tue Dec 3 UEFA 3 - 2 Leg Metz Home Won 2-0  (3-1 aggregate)
Mon Dec 9 Premier Nottingham Forest Away Drew 0-0
Tue Dec 17 Premier Coventry City Away Lost 1-2
Mon Dec 23 Premier Liverpool Home Drew 1-1
Thu Dec 26 Premier Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 28 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 7-1
Wed Jan 1 Premier Leeds United Home Won 3-0
Sun Jan 5 FAC 3 Charlton Athletic Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 11 Premier Aston Villa Away Drew 2-2
Wed Jan 15 FAC 3 replay Charlton Athletic Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 18 Premier Southampton Away Drew 2-2
Sun Jan 26 FAC 4 Nottingham Forest Home Lost 1-2
Wed Jan 29 Premier Everton Home Won 4-1
Sun Feb 2 Premier Leicester City Home Won 4-3
Sat Feb 22 Premier Middlesbrough Away Won 1-0
Sat Mar 1     Premier Southampton Home Lost 0-1
Tue Mar 4 UEFA 4 - 1 Leg Monaco Home Won 0-1
Mon Mar 10     Premier Liverpool Away Lost 3-4
Sat Mar 15     Premier Coventry City Home Won 4-0
Tue Mar 18 UEFA 4 - 2 Leg Monaco Away Lost 0-3  (0-4 aggregate)
Sun Mar 23     Premier Wimbledon Away Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 5     Premier Sunderland Home Drew 1-1
Sun Apr 13     Premier Sheffield Wednesday Away Drew 1-1
Wed Apr 16     Premier Chelsea Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 19     Premier Derby County Home Won 3-1
Sat May 3     Premier Arsenal Away Won 1-0
Tue May 6     Premier West Ham United Away Drew 0-0
Thu May 8     Premier Manchester United Away Drew 0-0
Sun May 11     Premier Nottingham Forest Home Won 5-0

 


"I'd been ill and hadn't trained for a week and I'd been out of the team for three weeks before that, so I wasn't sharp. I got cramp before half-time as well. But I'm not one to make excuses."

Clinton Morrison

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk