NORTHAMPTON TOWN   1996/97  results

   

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F W D L F A Pts Pos

1996/97

Div 3

46 14 4 5 43 17 6 8 9 24 27 72 4th Promoted Table
Sat Aug 17 Division 3 Wigan Athletic Away Lost 1-2
Tue Aug 20 LC 1 - 1 Leg Cardiff City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 24 Division 3 Mansfield Town Home Won 3-0
Tue Aug 27 Division 3 Torquay United Home Drew 1-1
Sat Aug 31 Division 3 Scarborough Away Drew 1-1
Tue Sep 3 LC 1 - 2 Leg Cardiff City Home Won 2-0 (2-1 aggregate)
Sat Sep 7 Division 3 Barnet Away Drew 1-1
Tue Sep 10 Division 3 Leyton Orient Home Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 14 Division 3 Cambridge United Home Lost 1-2
Wed Sep 18 LC 2 - 1 Leg Stoke City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 21 Division 3 Cardiff City Away Drew 2-2
Tue Sep 24 LC 2 - 2 Leg Stoke City Home Lost 1-2 (1-3 aggregate)
Sat Sep 28 Division 3 Brighton & Hove Albion Home Won 3-0
Tue Oct 1 Division 3 Chester City Away Lost 1-2
Sat Oct 5 Division 3 Fulham Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 12 Division 3 Exeter City Away Won 1-0
Tue Oct 15 Division 3 Scunthorpe United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Oct 19 Division 3 Colchester United Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 26 Division 3 Darlington Home Won 3-1
Tue Oct 29 Division 3 Hartlepool United Away Won 2-0
Sat Nov 2 Division 3 Swansea City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Nov 9 Division 3 Carlisle United Home Drew 1-1
Sun Nov 17 FAC 1 Watford Home Lost 0-1
Tue Nov 19 Division 3 Doncaster Rovers Away Won 2-1
Sat Nov 23 Division 3 Rochdale Home Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 30 Division 3 Darlington Away Lost 1-3
Tue Dec 3 Division 3 Hull City Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 14 Division 3 Lincoln City Away Drew 1-1
Fri Dec 20 Division 3 Hereford United Home Won 1-0
Thu Dec 26 Division 3 Leyton Orient Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 28 Division 3 Barnet Home Won 2-0
Wed Jan 1 Division 3 Cardiff City Home Won 4-0
Sat Jan 18 Division 3 Chester City Home Won 5-1
Sat Jan 25 Division 3 Hartlepool United Home Won 3-0
Sat Feb 1 Division 3 Carlisle United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 8 Division 3 Swansea City Home Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 15 Division 3 Rochdale Away Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 22 Division 3 Doncaster Rovers Home Won 2-0
Sat Mar 1 Division 3 Hull City Away Drew 1-1
Tue Mar 4 Division 3 Brighton & Hove Albion Away Lost 1-2
Sat Mar 8 Division 3 Hereford United Away Won 2-1
Sat Mar 15 Division 3 Lincoln City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Mar 22 Division 3 Mansfield Town Away Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 29 Division 3 Wigan Athletic Home Lost 0-1
Mon Mar 31 Division 3 Torquay United Away Won 2-1
Sat Apr 5 Division 3 Scarborough Home Won 1-0
Tue Apr 8 Division 3 Cambridge United Away Drew 0-0
Sat Apr 12 Division 3 Fulham Away Won 1-0
Sat Apr 19 Division 3 Exeter City Home Won 4-1
Sat Apr 26 Division 3 Colchester United Away Drew 0-0
Sat May 3 Division 3 Scunthorpe United Home Won 1-0
Sun May 11 Play Off SF - 1L Cardiff City Away Won 1-0
Wed May 14 Play Off SF - 2L Cardiff City Home Won 3-2 (4-2 aggregate)
Sat May 24 Play Off Final Swansea City Wembley Won 1-0

 

Northampton Town
joined the Football League in 1920. For every Cobblers' first team result and League table click on...


 Northampton Town

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk