WIMBLEDON (now Milton Keynes Dons) 1996/97  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1996/97

Prem

38 9 6 4 28 21 6 5 8 21 25 56 8th Table
Sat Aug 17 Premier Manchester United Home Lost 0-3
Wed Aug 21 Premier Newcastle United Away Lost 0-2
Mon Aug 26 Premier Leeds United Away Lost 0-1
Wed Sep 4 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 1-0
Sat Sep 7 Premier Everton Home Won 4-0
Sat Sep 14 Premier West Ham United Away Won 2-0
Wed Sep 18   LC 2 - 1 Leg Portsmouth Home Won 1-0
Mon Sep 23 Premier Southampton Home Won 3-1
Wed Sep 25   LC 2 - 2 Leg Portsmouth Away Drew 1-1  (2-1 aggregate)
Sat Sep 28 Premier Derby County Away Won 2-0
Sat Oct 12 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Home Won 4-2
Sat Oct 19 Premier Chelsea Away Won 4-2
Tue Oct 22   LC 3 Luton Town Home Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 26 Premier Middlesbrough Away Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 2 Premier Arsenal Home Drew 2-2
Tue Nov 12   LC 3 replay Luton Town Away Won 2-1
Sat Nov 16 Premier Coventry City Home Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 23 Premier Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Tue Nov 26   LC 4 Aston Villa Home Won 1-0
Sat Nov 30 Premier Nottingham Forest Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 7 Premier Sunderland Away Won 3-1
Sat Dec 14 Premier Blackburn Rovers Home Won 1-0
Sun Dec 22 Premier Aston Villa Away Lost 0-5
Sat Dec 28 Premier Everton Away Won 3-1
Wed Jan 8   LC 5 Bolton Wanderers Away Won 2-0
Sat Jan 11 Premier Derby County Home Drew 1-1
Tue Jan 14   FAC 3 Crewe Alexandra Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 18 Premier Leicester City Away Lost 0-1
Tue Jan 21   FAC 3 replay Crewe Alexandra Home Won 2-0
Sat Jan 25   FAC 4 Manchester United Away Drew 1-1
Wed Jan 29 Premier Manchester United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Feb 1 Premier Middlesbrough Home Drew 1-1
Tue Feb 4   FAC 4 replay Manchester United Home Won 1-0
Sat Feb 15   FAC 5 Queens Park Rangers Home Won 2-1
Tue Feb 18   LC Semi - 1 Leg Leicester City Away Drew 0-0
Sun Feb 23 Premier Arsenal Away Won 1-0
Wed Feb 26 Premier Southampton Away Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 1 Premier Leicester City Home Lost 1-3
Mon Mar 3 Premier Coventry City Away Drew 1-1
Sun Mar 9   FAC 6 Sheffield Wednesday Away Won 2-0
Tue Mar 11   LC Semi - 2 Leg Leicester City Home Drew 1-1  (1-1 aggregate*)
Sat Mar 15 Premier Blackburn Rovers Away Lost 1-3
Tue Mar 18 Premier West Ham United Home Drew 1-1
Sun Mar 23 Premier Newcastle United Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 5 Premier Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 0-1
Wed Apr 9 Premier Aston Villa Home Lost 0-2
Sun Apr 13   FAC Semi Chelsea Neutral** Lost 0-3
Wed Apr 16 Premier Leeds United Home Won 2-0
Sat Apr 19 Premier Sheffield Wednesday Away Lost 1-3
Tue Apr 22 Premier Chelsea Home Lost 0-1
Sat May 3 Premier Nottingham Forest Away Drew 1-1
Tue May 6 Premier Liverpool Home Won 2-1
Sun May 11   Premier Sunderland Home Won 1-0
                 
 

*  Wimbledon lost their Coca-Cola Cup semi-final against Leicester on the away goals rule after finishing the two
     legs 1-1 on aggregate.

**
Wimbledon's FA Cup semi-final against Chelsea was played at Highbury, Arsenal FC.

 

Did You Know.....
In the first 80 or so years after the Football League were founded only two clubs suffered points deductions - now several clubs a season are usually punished this way. To check out all the points deductions - and the reasons for them - click on...

Points deductions, demotions and expulsions

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk