HOME

 

BLACKBURN ROVERS   1972/73  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1972/73

Div 3

46 12 8 3 34 16 8 7 8 23 31 55 3rd Table
Sat Aug 12 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Away Lost 0-3
Tue Aug 16     LC 1 Rochdale Home Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 19 Division 3 Rochdale Home Drew 1-1
Sat Aug 26 Division 3 Brentford Away Lost 0-4
Tue Aug 29 Division 3 Oldham Athletic Away Won 2-1
Sat Sep 2 Division 3 Bolton Wanderers Home Lost 0-3
Sat Sep 9 Division 3 Shrewsbury Town Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 16 Division 3 Watford Home Drew 0-0
Wed Sep 20 Division 3 Plymouth Argyle Home Won 3-1
Sat Sep 23 Division 3 Chesterfield Away Lost 1-3
Tue Sep 26 Division 3 Grimsby Town Away Lost 0-2
Sat Sep 30 Division 3 Scunthorpe United Home Won 3-0
Sat Oct 7 Division 3 Wrexham Away Drew 0-0
Mon Oct 9 Division 3 York City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 14 Division 3 Port Vale Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 21 Division 3 Swansea City Away Drew 2-2
Wed Oct 25 Division 3 Walsall Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 28 Division 3 Charlton Athletic Home Won 3-1
Sat Nov 4 Division 3 Grimsby Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 11 Division 3 Plymouth Argyle Away Won 2-1
Sat Nov 18     FAC 1 Lincoln City Away Drew 2-2
Fri Nov 24 Division 3 Tranmere Rovers Away Drew 1-1
Mon Nov 27     FAC 1 replay Lincoln City Home Won 4-1
Sat Dec 2 Division 3 Halifax Town Home Won 3-0
Sat Dec 9     FAC 2 Crewe Alexandra Home Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 16 Division 3 Southend United Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 23 Division 3 Rotherham United Away Drew 1-1
Tue Dec 26 Division 3 Blackburn Rovers Home Lost 0-1*
Sat Dec 30 Division 3 Rochdale Away Won 1-0
Sat Jan 6 Division 3 Brentford Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 13 Division 3 Walsall Away Won 2-0
Sat Jan 27 Division 3 Shrewsbury Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Feb 3 Division 3 York City Home Won 2-0
Sat Feb 10 Division 3 Watford Away Won 3-1
Sat Feb 17 Division 3 Bristol Rovers Home Drew 0-0
Sat Feb 24 Division 3 Southend United Away Won 1-0
Sat Mar 3 Division 3 Wrexham Home Drew 1-1
Wed Mar 7 Division 3 Notts County Home Won 2-0
Sat Mar 10 Division 3 Port Vale Away Lost 1-2
Wed Mar 14 Division 3 Chesterfield Home Lost 0-1
Sat Mar 17 Division 3 Swansea City Home Won 3-0
Tue Mar 20 Division 3 Bournemouth Away Lost 0-3
Sat Mar 24 Division 3 Charlton Athletic Away Won 2-1
Wed Mar 28     Division 3 Bolton Wanderers Away Won 1-0
Sat Mar 31     Division 3 Tranmere Rovers Home Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 7     Division 3 Halifax Town Away Drew 2-2
Sat Apr 14     Division 3 Bornemouth Home Won 2-1
Fri Apr 20     Division 3 Rotherham United Home Won 2-1
Sat Apr 21     Division 3 Notts County Away Drew 0-0
Tue Apr 24     Division 3 Scunthorpe United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 28     Division 3 Oldham Athletic Home Drew 1-1
                   

* Chesterfield's 1-0 victory at Blackburn on Boxing Day was voided and the match ordered to be replayed when they were found guilty of fielding an ineligible player in the match. Chesterfield had signed goalkeeper Jim Brown from Albion Rovers on December 22nd but the letter registering the player with the Football League was delayed in the Christmas post and didn't arrive until two days after he had made his debut. So Chesterfield lost the points (they didn't suffer a further points penalty) and the match was ordered to be replayed on March 14th - by then Jim Brown was playing his 12th official League match for Chesterfield who again won 1-0.

                   
                   
                   

 


For all past winners of the 
Footballer of the Year and Player of the Year
awards

click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk