HOME

 

CHELSEA   1955/56  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1955/56

Div 1

42 10 4 7 32 26 4 7 10 32 51 39 16th Table
Sat Aug 20 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Lost 0-2
Wed Aug 24 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Away Won 3-1
Sat Aug 27 Division 1 Arsenal Away Drew 1-1
Mon Aug 29 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 3 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Lost 1-5
Mon Sep 5 Division 1 Blackpool Away Lost 1-2
Sat Sep 10 Division 1 Sunderland Away Lost 3-4
Sat Sep 17 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 24 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 1-2
Sat Oct 1 Division 1 Manchester City Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 8 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Away Won 2-1
Sat Oct 15 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 22 Division 1 Preston North End Away Won 3-2
Sat Oct 29 Division 1 Burnley Home Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 5 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Lost 0-3
Sat Nov 12 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Won 2-0
Sat Nov 19 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 0-3
Sat Nov 26 Division 1 Sheffield United Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 3 Division 1 Everton Away Drew 3-3
Sat Dec 10 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 17 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Lost 0-4
Sat Dec 24 Division 1 Arsenal Home Won 2-0
Mon Dec 26 Division 1 Cardiff City Away Drew 1-1
Tue Dec 27 Division 1 Cardiff City Home Won 2-1
Sat Dec 31 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Drew 4-4
Sat Jan 7 FAC 3 Hartlepools United Away Won 1-0
Sat Jan 14 Division 1 Sunderland Home Lost 2-3
Sat Jan 21 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Won 4-1
Sat Jan 28 FAC 4 Burnley Away Drew 1-1
Wed Feb 1 FAC 4 replay Burnley Home Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 4 Division 1 Wolverhampton W. Home Lost 2-3
Mon Feb 6 FAC 2nd replay Burnley Neutral* Drew 2-2
Sat Feb 11 Division 1 Manchester City Away Drew 2-2
Mon Feb 13 FAC 3rd replay Burnley Neutral* Drew 0-0
Wed Feb 15 FAC 4th replay Burnley Neutral* Won 2-0
Sat Feb 18 FAC 5 Everton Away Lost 0-1
Wed Feb 22 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Home Won 3-1
Sat Feb 25 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 0-4
Sat Mar 3 Division 1 Manchester United Home Lost 2-4
Sat Mar 10 Division 1 Burnley Away Lost 0-5
Wed Mar 21 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Lost 1-2
Sat Mar 24 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 0-3
Fri Mar 30 Division 1 Luton Town Away Drew 2-2
Sat Mar 31 Division 1 Preston North End Home Lost 0-1
Mon Apr 2 Division 1 Luton Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Apr 7 Division 1 Sheffield United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 14 Division 1 Everton Home Won 6-1
Sat Apr 21 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 28 Division 1 Blackpool Home Won 2-1
* The FA Cup 4th round tie against Burnley proved to be Chelsea's longest running cup tie. After drawn games at Turf Moor and Stamford Bridge further draws followed in the second replay (played at St Andrew's, Birmingham City FC) and in the third replay (played at Highbury, Arsenal FC) before the tie was decided at the fourth replay played at White Hart Lane (Tottenham Hotspur FC) with Chelsea 2-0 victors.

 


"I couldn't settle in Italy -
it was like living in a foreign country."

Ian Rush on his spell at Juventus

For dozens more hilarious 'foot-in-mouth' quotes click on Colemanballs
 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk