HOME

MANCHESTER CITY    1955/56  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1955/56

Div 1

42 11 5 5 40 27 7 5 9 42 42 46 4th Table
Sat Aug 20 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Drew 2-2
Sat Aug 27 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 2-7
Wed Aug 31 Division 1 Arsenal Home Drew 2-2
Sat Sep 3 Division 1 Manchester United Home Won 1-0
Tue Sep 6 Division 1 Arsenal Away Drew 0-0
Sat Sep 10 Division 1 Cardiff City Home Won 3-1
Sat Sep 17 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Away Drew 3-3
Sat Sep 24 Division 1 Blackpool Home Won 2-0
Sat Oct 1 Division 1 Chelsea Away Lost 1-2
Sat Oct 8 Division 1 Sheffield United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 15 Division 1 Preston North End Home Lost 0-2
Sat Oct 22 Division 1 Birmingham City Away Lost 3-4
Sat Oct 29 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Won 2-0
Sat Nov 5 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Away Lost 2-5
Sat Nov 12 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 19 Division 1 Everton Away Drew 1-1
Sat Nov 26 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 3 Division 1 Burnley Away Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 10 Division 1 Luton Town Home Won 3-2
Sat Dec 17 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Won 3-0
Sat Dec 24 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Drew 2-2
Mon Dec 26 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Won 3-1
Tue Dec 27 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-0
Sat Dec 31 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 1-2
Mon Jan 2 Division 1 Portsmouth Home Won 4-1
Sat Jan 7   FAC 3 Blackpool Home Abandoned*
Wed Jan 11   FAC 3 Blackpool Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 14 Division 1 Cardiff City Away Lost 1-4
Sat Jan 21 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Home Won 1-0
Sat Jan 28   FAC 4 Southend United Away Won 1-0
Sat Feb 4 Division 1 Blackpool Away Won 1-0
Sat Feb 11 Division 1 Chelsea Home Drew 2-2
Sat Feb 18   FAC 5 Liverpool Home Drew 0-0
Wed Feb 22   FAC 5 replay Liverpool Away Won 2-1
Sat Feb 25 Division 1 Preston North End Away Won 3-0
Sat Mar 3   FAC 6 Everton Home Won 2-1
Wed Mar 7 Division 1 Everton Home Won 3-0
Sat Mar 10 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Won 4-0
Sat Mar 17   FAC Semi Tottenham Hotspur Neutral** Won 1-0
Wed Mar 21 Division 1 Charlton Athletic Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 24 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Lost 1-2
Fri Mar 30 Division 1 Sunderland Away Won 3-0
Sat Mar 31 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Drew 1-1
Mon Apr 2 Division 1 Sunderland Home Won 4-2
Sat Apr 7 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 1-3
Wed Apr 11 Division 1 Sheffield United Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 14 Division 1 Burnley Home Lost 1-3
Sat Apr 21 Division 1 Luton Town Away Lost 2-3
Sat Apr 28 Division 1 Portsmouth Away Won 4-2
Sat May 5   FAC Final Birmingham City Wembley Won 3-1
  *   The Manchester City v Blackpool FA Cup 3rd Round match played at Maine Road on Saturday January 7th 1956 was abandoned after 56 minutes due to fog. The score was 1-1 at the time - match void.
** The FA Cup semi-final against Spurs was played at Villa Park, Aston Villa FC.
                 
                 

 

Manchester City
joined the Football League in the1892/93 season.
 For every first team result and League table since then
 
click on...


 Manchester City

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk