HOME

MANCHESTER UNITED   1970/71  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1970/71

Div 1

42 9 6 6 29 24 7 5 9 36 42 43 8th Table
Sat Aug 1     Watney Cup 1* Reading Away Won 3-2
Wed Aug 5     Watney Cup SF* Hull City Away Won 1-1  (4-3 penalties*)
Sat Aug 8     Watney Cup Final* Derby County Away Lost 1-4
Sat Aug 15 Division 1 Leeds United Home Lost 0-1
Wed Aug 19 Division 1 Chelsea Home Drew 0-0
Sat Aug 22 Division 1 Arsenal Away Lost 0-4
Tue Aug 25 Division 1 Burnley Away Won 2-0
Sat Aug 29 Division 1 West Ham United Home Drew 1-1
Wed Sep 2 Division 1 Everton Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 5 Division 1 Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Wed Sep 9 LC 2 Aldershot Away Won 3-1
Sat Sep 12 Division 1 Coventry City Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 19 Division 1 Ipswich Town Away Lost 0-4
Sat Sep 26 Division 1 Blackpool Home Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 3 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 2-3
Wed Oct 7 LC 3 Portsmouth Home Won 1-0
Sat Oct 10 Division 1 Crystal Palace Home Lost 0-1
Sat Oct 17 Division 1 Leeds United Away Drew 2-2
Sat Oct 24 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Won 2-1
Wed Oct 28 LC 4 Chelsea Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 31 Division 1 Newcastle United Away Lost 0-1
Sat Nov 7 Division 1 Stoke City Home Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 14 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Won 2-1
Wed Nov 18 LC 5 Crystal Palace Home Won 4-2
Sat Nov 21 Division 1 Southampton Away Lost 0-1
Sat Nov 28 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Home Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 5 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Drew 2-2
Sat Dec 12 Division 1 Manchester City Home Lost 1-4
Wed Dec 16 LC Semi - 1 Leg Aston Villa Home Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 19 Division 1 Arsenal Home Lost 1-3
Wed Dec 23 LC Semi - 2 Leg Aston Villa Away Lost 1-2  (2-3 aggregate)
Sat Dec 26 Division 1 Derby County Away Drew 4-4
Sat Jan 2 FAC 3 Middlesbrough Home Drew 0-0
Tue Jan 5 FAC 3 replay Middlesbrough Away Lost 1-2
Sat Jan 9 Division 1 Chelsea Away Won 2-1
Sat Jan 16 Division 1 Burnley Home Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 30 Division 1 Huddersfield Town Away Won 2-1
Sat Feb 6 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 2-1
Sat Feb 20 Division 1 Southampton Home Won 5-1
Tue Feb 23 Division 1 Everton Away Lost 0-1
Sat Feb 27 Division 1 Newcastle United Home Won 1-0
Sat Mar 6 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 3-4
Sat Mar 13 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Won 2-0
Sat Mar 20 Division 1 Stoke City Away Won 2-1
Sat Apr 3 Division 1 West Ham United Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 10 Division 1 Derby County Home Lost 1-2
Mon Apr 12 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Won 1-0
Tue Apr 13 Division 1 Coventry City Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 17 Division 1 Crystal Palace Away Won 5-3
Mon Apr 19 Division 1 Liverpool Home Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 24 Division 1 Ipswich Town Home Won 3-2
Sat May 1 Division 1 Blackpool Away Drew 1-1
Wed May 5 Division 1 Manchester City Away Won 4-3
 

* The Watney Cup was the first sponsored competition played for by Football League clubs and Manchester United played in the first two seasons of the competition. Full details - Watney Cup. The semi-final against Hull saw the first penalty shoot-out in England (shoot-outs).

                   

 

Question:

Who is the only person to have played first-class County cricket and won a World Cup winners medal at football?  
Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk