HOME

ARSENAL   1979/80  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1979/80

Div 1

42 8 10 3 24 12 10 6 5 28 24 52 4th Table
 
Sat Aug 11 Charity Shield Liverpool Wembley Lost 1-3  (match details)
Sat Aug 18 Division 1 Brighton & Hove Albion Away Won 4-0
Tue Aug 21 Division 1 Ipswich Town Home Lost 0-2
Sat Aug 25 Division 1 Manchester United Home Drew 0-0
Wed Aug 29 LC 2 - 1 Leg Leeds United Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 1 Division 1 Leeds United Away Drew 1-1
Tue Sep 4 LC 2 - 2 Leg Leeds United Home Won 7-0 (8-1 aggregate)
Sat Sep 8 Division 1 Derby County Away Lost 2-3
Sat Sep 15 Division 1 Middlesbrough Home Won 2-0
Wed Sep 19 ECWC 1 - 1 Leg Fenerbahce Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 22 Division 1 Aston Villa Away Drew 0-0
Tue Sep 25 LC 3 Southampton Home Won 2-1
Sat Sep 29 Division 1 Wolverhampton W. Home Lost 2-3
Wed Oct 3 ECWC 1 - 2 Leg Fenerbahce Away Drew 0-0 (2-0 aggregate)
Sat Oct 6 Division 1 Manchester City Home Drew 0-0
Tue Oct 9 Division 1 Ipswich Town Away Won 2-1
Sat Oct 13 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Drew 0-0
Sat Oct 20 Division 1 Stoke City Home Drew 0-0
Wed Oct 24 ECWC 2 - 1 Leg Magdeburg Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 27 Division 1 Bristol City Away Won 1-0
Tue Oct 30 LC 4 Brighton & Hove Albion Away Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 3 Division 1 Brighton & Hove Albion Home Won 3-0
Wed Nov 7 ECWC 2 - 2 Leg Magdeburg Away Drew 2-2 (4-3 aggregate)
Sat Nov 10 Division 1 Crystal Palace Away Lost 0-1
Tue Nov 13 LC 4 replay Brighton & Hove Albion Home Won 4-0
Sat Nov 17 Division 1 Everton Home Won 2-0
Sat Nov 24 Division 1 Liverpool Home Drew 0-0
Sat Dec 1 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Drew 1-1
Tue Dec 4 LC 5 Swindon Town Home Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 8 Division 1 Coventry City Home Won 3-1
Tue Dec 11 LC 5 replay Swindon Town Away Lost 3-4
Sat Dec 15 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Drew 2-2
Fri Dec 21 Division 1 Norwich City Home Drew 1-1
Wed Dec 26 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 1-0
Sat Dec 29 Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 0-3
Tue Jan 1 Division 1 Southampton Away Won 1-0
Sat Jan 5 FAC 3 Cardiff City Away Drew 0-0
Tue Jan 8 FAC 3 replay Cardiff City Home Won 2-1
Sat Jan 12 Division 1 Leeds United Home Lost 0-1
Sat Jan 19 Division 1 Derby County Home Won 2-0
Sat Jan 26 FAC 4 Brighton & Hove Albion Home Won 2-0
Sat Feb 9 Division 1 Aston Villa Home Won 3-1
Sat Feb 16 FAC 5 Bolton Wanderers Away Drew 1-1
Tue Feb 19 FAC 5 replay Bolton Wanderers Home Won 3-0
Sat Feb 23 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-0
Sat Mar 1 Division 1 Stoke City Away Won 3-2
Wed Mar 5 ECWC 3 - 1 Leg Gothenburg Home Won 5-1
Sat Mar 8 FAC 6 Watford Away Won 2-1
Tue Mar 11 Division 1 Bristol City Home Drew 0-0
Sat Mar 15 Division 1 Manchester City Away Won 3-0
Wed Mar 19 ECWC 3 - 2 Leg Gothenburg Away Drew 0-0 (5-1 aggregate)
Sat Mar 22 Division 1 Crystal Palace Home Drew 1-1
Fri Mar 28 Division 1 Everton Away Won 1-0
Wed Apr 2 Division 1 Norwich City Away Lost 1-2
Sat Apr 5 Division 1 Southampton Home Drew 1-1
Mon Apr 7 Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Won 2-1
Wed Apr 9 ECWC SF - 1 Leg Juventus Home Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 12 FAC Semi Liverpool Neutral* Drew 0-0
Wed Apr 16 FAC Semi replay Liverpool Neutral* Drew 1-1
Sat Apr 19 Division 1 Liverpool Away Drew 1-1
Wed Apr 23 ECWC SF - 2 Leg Juventus Away Won 1-0 (2-1 aggregate)
Sat Apr 26 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Drew 1-1
Mon Apr 28 FAC Semi 2nd rep Liverpool Neutral* Drew 1-1
Thu May 1 FAC Semi 3rd rep Liverpool Neutral* Won 1-0
Sat May 3 Division 1 Coventry City Away Won 1-0
Mon May 5 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Drew 0-0
Sat May 10 FAC Final West Ham United Wembley Lost 0-1
Wed May 14 ECWC Final Valencia Neutral** Lost 0-0 (4-5 penalties)
Fri May 16 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Won 2-1
Mon May 19 Division 1 Middlesbrough Away Lost 0-5

* The FA Cup semi-final between Arsenal and Liverpool proved to be a bit of a saga - the first match was played at Hillsborough, Sheffield Wednesday FC, the replay and second replay at Villa Park, Aston Villa FC, the third replay at Highfield Road, Coventy City FC (the only time a semi was played at that ground).

** Arsenal's European Cup Winners Cup Final against Valencia was played at the Heysel Stadium in Brussels. It was the first time that a European final was decided on penalties. Kempes and Brady missed the first two penalties with all the others being scored until Graham Rix had the sixth Arsenal penalty saved by Valencia keeper Pereira.

 

Arsenal
joined the Football League in 1893. For every first team result and League table in the Football League
click on...


 Arsenal

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk