Alan Hardaker


of other awards listings on footballsite


Alan Hardaker was one of the most influential men in the history of the Football League, serving as Secretary of the organisation from December 1956 until Graham Kelly succeeded him in June 1979. He was seen as the main instigator of the League Cup competition which was added to the footballing calendar in 1960 amidst widespread criticism from the leading clubs and the press. To mark mark his contribution to the League Cup the Alan Hardaker Trophy was introduced in 1990, being awarded to the 'Man of the Match' in each seasons' League Cup Final. The winners -


    Winner Team Opposition


Des Walker Nottingham Forest Oldham Athletic
  1991 Nigel Pearson Sheffield Wednesday Manchester United
  1992 Brian McClair Manchester United Nottingham Forest
  1993 Paul Merson Arsenal Sheffield Wednesday
  1994 Kevin Richardson Aston Villa Manchester United
  1995 Steve McManaman Liverpool Bolton Wanderers
  1996 Andy Townsend Aston Villa Leeds United
  1997 Steve Walsh Leicester City Middlesbrough
  1998 Dennis Wise Chelsea Middlesbrough
  1999 Allan Nielsen Tottenham Hotspur Leicester City
  2000 Matt Elliott Leicester City Tranmere Rovers
  2001 Robbie Fowler Liverpool Birmingham City
    2002 Brad Friedel Blackburn Rovers Tottenham Hotspur
    2003 Jerzy Dudek Liverpool Manchester United
    2004 Boudewijn Zenden Middlesbrough Bolton Wanderers
    2005 John Terry Chelsea Liverpool
    2006 Wayne Rooney Manchester United Wigan Athletic
    2007 Didier Drogba Chelsea Arsenal
    2008 Jonathan Woodgate Tottenham Hotspur Chelsea
    2009 Ben Foster Manchester United Tottenham Hotspur
    2010 Antonio Valencia Manchester United Aston Villa
    2011 Ben Foster Birmingham City Arsenal
    2012 Stewart Downing Liverpool Cardiff City
    2013 Nathan Dyer Swansea City Bradford City
      2014 Samir Nasri Manchester City Sunderland
      2015 John Terry Chelsea Tottenham Hotspur
      2016 Vincent Kompany Manchester City Liverpool
      2017 Zlatan Ibrahimović Manchester United Southampton
    2018 Vincent Kompany Manchester City Arsenal
      2019 Bernado Silva Manchester City Chelsea
      2020 Phil Foden Manchester City Aston Villa
      2021 Riyad Mahrez Manchester City Tottenham Hotspur
      2022 Virgil van Dijk Liverpool Chelsea
      2023 Casemiro Manchester United Newcastle United


Did You Know.....

..that when Graeme Souness gave Ali Dia his Premier League debut it was probably the most embarrassing experience any manager had suffered!

Read more about this and other Whoops! moments...
Click on

Did You Know?

Web footballsite.co.uk