of other awards listings on footballsite





The BBC introduced the Sports Personality of the Year award in 1954 and six years later expanded the format to include additional awards for the 'Team of the Year' and 'Overseas Personality of the Year'. In 2021 it was renamed the 'World Sport Star of the Year'. The annual winner is the non-British sportsperson considered to have made the most substantial contribution to a sport in that year and is voted for by a team of journalists.

Tennis and athletics have been regular winners over the years while other sports seem to have a surprising absence from the honours list - no Formula 1 winner between 1977 and 2013 for example. One winner has been stripped of his award - cyclist Lance Armstrong won the award in 2003 but it was reported that he had been stripped of the award in 2012 following revelations of drugs-taking.

    1960 Herb Elliott Australia Athletics
    1961 Valeriy Brumel Soviet Union Athletics
    1962 Donald Jackson Canada Figure Skating
    1963 Jacques Anquetil France Cycling
    1964 Abebe Bikila Ethiopia Athletics
    1965 Ron Clarke &
Gary Player 
(joint award)
South Africa
    1966 Eusébio &
Garfield Sobers
(joint award)
    1967 George Moore Australia Horse Racing
    1968 Oleg Protopopov &
Ludmila Belousova
(joint award)
Soviet Union
Soviet Union
Figure Skating
Figure Skating
    1969 Rod Laver Australia Tennis
    1970 Pelé Brazil Football
    1971 Lee Trevino USA Golf
    1972 Olga Korbut Soviet Union Gymnastics
    1973 Muhammad Ali USA Boxing
    1974 Muhammad Ali USA Boxing
    1975 Arthur Ashe USA Tennis
    1976 Nadia Comăneci Romania Gymnastics
    1977 Niki Lauda Austria Formula 1
    1978 Muhammad Ali USA Boxing
    1979 Björn Borg Sweden Tennis
    1980 Jack Nicklaus USA Golf
    1981 Chris Evert USA Tennis
    1982 Jimmy Connors USA Tennis
    1983 Carl Lewis USA Athletics
    1984 Seve Ballesteros Spain Golf
    1985 Boris Becker West Germany Tennis
    1986 Greg Norman Australia Golf
    1987 Martina Navratilova USA Tennis
    1988 Steffi Graf West Germany Tennis
    1989 Mike Tyson USA Boxing
      1990 Mal Meninga Australia Rugby League
      1991 Mike Powell USA Athletics
      1992 Andre Agassi USA Tennis
      1993 Greg Norman Australia Golf
      1994 Brian Lara Trinidad & Tobago Cricket
      1995 Jonah Lomu New Zealand Rugby Union
      1996 Evander Holyfield &
Michael Johnson
(joint award)
      1997 Martina Hingis Switzerland Tennis
      1998 Mark O'Meara USA Golf
      1999 Maurice Greene USA Athletics
      2000 Tiger Woods USA Golf
      2001 Goran Ivanišević Croatia Tennis
      2002 Ronaldo Brazil Football
      2003 Lance Armstrong USA Cycling
      2004 Roger Federer Switzerland Tennis
      2005 Shane Warne Australia Cricket
      2006 Roger Federer Switzerland Tennis
      2007 Roger Federer Switzerland Tennis
      2008 Usain Bolt Jamaica Athletics
      2009 Usain Bolt Jamaica Athletics
      2010 Rafa Nadal Spain Tennis
      2011 Novak Djokovic Serbia Tennis
        2012 Usain Bolt Jamaica Athletics
        2013 Sebastian Vettel Germany Formula 1
        2014 Chrstiano Ronaldo Portugal Football
        2015 Dan Carter New Zealand Rugby Union
        2016 Simone Biles USA Gymnastics
      2017 Roger Federer Switzerland Tennis
      2018 Francesco Molinari Italy Golf
      2019 Eliud Kipchoge Kenya Athletics (Marathon)
      2020 Khabib Nurmagomedov Russia Mixed Martial Arts
      2021 Rachael Blackmore Ireland Horse Racing
      2022 Lionel Messi Argentina Football



During the 1991 England cricket tour of Australia David Gower and John Morris were each fined £1000 for an incident during a match against Queensland. What did they do?

Click for answer
For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz

Web footballsite.co.uk