of other awards listings on footballsite




The BBC's Sports Personality of the Year award was created in 1954 by Sir Paul Fox, then editor of the magazine show Sportsview, and presenter Peter Dimmock. The destination of the annual award is decided by a public vote.



Chris Chataway   (Athletics)
    1955 Gordon Pirie   (Athletics)
    1956 Jim Laker   (Cricket)
    1957 Dai Rees   (Golf)
    1958 Ian Black   (Swimming)
    1959 John Surtees   (Motorcycle Racing)
    1960 David Broome   (Show Jumping)
    1961 Stirling Moss   (Motor racing)
    1962 Anita Lonsbrough   (Swimming)
    1963 Dorothy Hyman   (Athletics)
    1964 Mary Rand   (Athletics)
    1965 Tom Simpson   (Cycling)
    1966 Bobby Moore (Football)
    1967 Henry Cooper (Boxing)
    1968 David Hemery (Athletics)
    1969 Ann Jones (Tennis)
    1970 Henry Cooper (Boxing)
    1971 Princess Anne (Equestrian Three Day Event)
    1972 Mary Peters (Athletics)
    1973 Jackie Stewart (Motor Racing)
    1974 Brendan Foster (Athletics)
    1975 David Steele (Cricket)
    1976 John Curry (Ice Skating)
    1977 Virgina Wade (Tennis)
    1978 Steve Ovett (Athletics)
    1979 Sebastian Coe (Athletics)
    1980 Robin Cousins (Ice Skating)
    1981 Ian Botham (Cricket)
    1982 Daley Thompson (Athletics)
    1983 Steve Cram (Athletics)
    1984 Jayne Torvill & Christopher Dean (Ice Skating)
    1985 Barry McGuigan (Boxing)
    1986 Nigel Mansell (Motor Racing)
    1987 Fatima Whitbread (Athletics)
    1988 Steve Davis (Snooker)
    1989 Nick Faldo (Golf)
    1990 Paul Gascoigne (Football)
      1991 Liz McColgan (Athletics)
      1992 Nigel Mansell (Motor Racing)
      1993 Linford Christie (Athletics)
      1994 Damon Hill (Motor Racing)
      1995 Jonathan Edwards (Athletics)
      1996 Damon Hill (Motor Racing)
      1997 Greg Rusedski (Tennis)
      1998 Michael Owen (Football)
      1999 Lennox Lewis (Boxing)
      2000 Steve Redgrave (Rowing)
      2001 David Beckham (Football)
      2002 Paula Radcliffe (Athletics)
      2003 Jonny Wilkinson (Rugby Union)
      2004 Kelly Holmes (Athletics)
      2005 Andrew Flintoff (Cricket)
      2006 Zara Phillips (Equestrian Three Day Event)
      2007 Joe Calzaghe (Boxing)
      2008 Chris Hoy (Cycling)
      2009 Ryan Giggs (Football)
      2010 Tony McCoy (Horse Racing)
      2011 Mark Cavendish (Cycling)
      2012 Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)
      2013 Andy Murray (Tennis)
      2014 Lewis Hamilton (Motor Racing)
      2015 Andy Murray (Tennis)
      2016 Andy Murray (Tennis)
      2017 Mo Farah (Athletics)
      2018 Geraint Thomas (Cycling)
      2019 Ben Stokes (Cricket)
      2020 Lewis Hamilton (Motor Racing)
      2021 Emma Raducanu (Tennis)
      2022 Beth Mead (Football)


Football Day by Day.....
Football is a 365 day a year game. A  reminder of some of the famous, record-breaking or bizarre things that have happened Day by Day over the years.

Click on
Football On This Day

Web footballsite.co.uk