HOME


SOME OF THE STORIES FROM THE HISTORY OF FOOTBALL.. . . .

CHESTERFIELD  
created a new Football League record in 1930 that stood for 73 years by scoring in 46 consecutive Football League games.

When Sam Taylor scored for Chesterfield against Rotherham United at Millmoor on Christmas Day 1929 no-one would have guessed that it would be the start of a scoring sequence that would create a record that would last for over 70 years. In a sequence which lasted to the Christmas period of the following year Chesterfield scored in each of 46 consecutive matches, a record that was to last until Arsenal finally bettered it in 2003 (Arsenal's 55). During those 46 matches they won 28 times and just missed out on a century of goals, scoring 99 times. The results - 

1929/30 season

Sat Dec 21 Div 3N Stockport County Away Lost 0-1
1 Wed Dec 25 Div 3N Rotherham United Away Drew 1-1
2 Thu Dec 26 Div 3N Rotherham United Home Won 2-1
3 Sat Dec 28 Div 3N South Shields Away Lost 1-3
4 Wed Jan 1 Div 3N Rochdale Home Won 2-0
5 Sat Jan 4 Div 3N Accrington Stanley Home Won 4-2
6 Sat Jan 18 Div 3N Darlington Away Won 4-1
7 Sat Jan 25 Div 3N Hartlepools United Home Won 2-0
8 Sat Feb 1 Div 3N Doncaster Rovers Away Lost 1-2
9 Sat Feb 8 Div 3N York City Home Won 3-0
10 Sat Feb 15 Div 3N Lincoln City Home Won 2-1
11 Sat Feb 22 Div 3N Crewe Alexandra Away Lost 1-2
12 Sat Mar 1 Div 3N Southport Home Won 2-0
13 Sat Mar 8 Div 3N Nelson Away Won 2-0
14 Wed Mar 12 Div 3N Barrow Home Won 2-1
15 Sat Mar 15 Div 3N Carlisle United Home Won 3-1
16 Sat Mar 22 Div 3N Wigan Borough Away Lost 1-2
17 Sat Mar 29 Div 3N Wrexham Home Won 5-0
18 Sat Apr 5 Div 3N Barrow Away Won 1-0
19 Mon Apr 7 Div 3N New Brighton Home Won 1-0
20 Sat Apr 12 Div 3N Port Vale Home Drew 1-1
21 Fri Apr 18 Div 3N Halifax Town Home Won 2-0
22 Sat Apr 19 Div 3N New Brighton Away Drew 1-1
23 Mon Apr 21 Div 3N Halifax Town Away Lost 2-3
24 Tue Apr 22 Div 3N Tranmere Rovers Away Won 2-1
25 Sat Apr 26 Div 3N Stockport County Home Lost 1-3
1930/31 season
26 Sat Aug 30 Div 3N Carlisle United Home Won 2-1
27 Mon Sep 1 Div 3N Rochdale Away Won 3-2
28 Sat Sep 6 Div 3N York City Away Drew 2-2
29 Mon Sep 8 Div 3N Crewe Alexandra Home Won 2-0
30 Sat Sep  13 Div 3N Rotherham United Home Won  2-1
31 Wed Sep 17 Div 3N Crewe Alexandra Away Lost 1-2
32 Sat Sep 20 Div 3N Hull City Away Lost 1-3
33 Sat Sep 27 Div 3N Barrow Away Won 3-0
34 Sat Oct 4 Div 3N Southport Home Won 2-1
35 Sat Oct 11 Div 3N Accrington Stanley Away Won 3-1
36 Sat Oct 18 Div 3N Doncaster Rovers Home Won 2-1
37 Sat Oct 25 Div 3N Lincoln City Away Drew 1-1
38 Sat Nov 1 Div 3N Stockport County Home Drew 1-1
39 Sat Nov 8 Div 3N New Brighton Away Lost 1-3
40 Sat Nov 15

Div 3N

Halifax Town Home Won 7-0
41 Sat Nov 22 Div 3N Darlington Away Lost 1-5
42 Sat Dec 6 Div 3N Wigan Borough Away Won 5-1
43 Sat Dec 13 Div 3N Hartlepools United Home Won 3-0
44 Sat Dec 20 Div 3N Gateshead Away Drew 3-3
45 Thu Dec 25 Div 3N Wrexham Home Won 4-0
46 Fri Dec 26 Div 3N Wrexham Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 27 Div 3N Carlisle United Away Drew 0-0

 

 

 

 


For a really satisfying cigarette that's kind to your throat give me Craven 'A' every time.
'

Amazingly Stanley Matthews - a teetotal vegetarian non-smoker who was fit enough to play in the old First Division at 50 years old once endorsed smoking in adverts! Read all about it, click on....
Those were the days!

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk