NEWCASTLE UNITED    2012/13
      Europa Cup
     
 

 

 

Newcastle won their place in European competition for the first time in six seasons by finishing 5th in the Premier League in 2011/12.

   
Europa Cup
Play Off Round 
1st Leg Thu Aug 23 Atromitos (Greece) Away Drew 1-1
2nd Leg Thu Aug 30 Atromitos Home Won 1-0
Won 2-1 on aggregate. 
Group Stage            
Group D Thu Sep 20 Maritimo (Portugal) Away Drew 0-0
Group D Thu Oct 4 Bordeaux (France) Home Won 3-0
Group D Thu Oct 25 FC Bruges (Belgium) Home Won 1-0
Group D Thu Nov 8 FC Bruges Away Drew 2-2
Group D Thu Nov 22 Maritimo Home Drew 1-1
Group D The Dec 6 Bordeaux Away Lost 0-2
Round of the Last 32
1st Leg Thu Feb 14 Metalist Kharkiv (Ukraine) Home Drew 0-0
2nd Leg Thu Feb 21 Metalist Kharkiv Away Won 1-0
Won 1-0 on aggregate. 
Round of the Last 16
1st Leg Thu Mar 7 Anzhi Makhachkala (Russia) Away Drew 0-0
2nd Leg Thu Mar 14 Anzhi Makhachkala Home Won 1-0
Won 1-0 on aggregate. 
Quarter Final
1st Leg Thu Apr 4 Benfica (Portugal) Away Lost 1-3
2nd Leg Thu Apr 11 Benfica Home Drew 1-1
Lost 2-4 on aggregate.