HOME

MACCLESFIELD TOWN   2019/20  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

2019/20

Lea 2

37* 5 9 4 19 17 2 6 11 13 30 19** 24th Relegated Table

 
Sat Aug 3   League 2 Exeter City Away Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 10   League 2 Leyton Orient Home Won 3-0
Tue Aug 13   LC 1 Blackpool Away Won 2-2  (4-2 penalties)
Sat Aug 17   League 2 Northampton Town Away Won 2-1
Tue Aug 20   League 2 Morecambe Home Lost 0-1
Sat Aug 24   League 2 Scunthorpe United Home Won 1-0
Tue Aug 27   LC 2 Grimsby Town Away Abandoned***
Sat Aug 31   League 2 Stevenage Away Drew 2-2
Sat Sep 7   League 2 Crawley Town Home Drew 1-1
Tue Sep 10 LC 2 Grimsby Town Away Lost 0-0  (4-5 penalties)
Sat Sep 14   League 2 Swindon Town Away Lost 0-3
Tue Sep 17   League 2 Newport County Home Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 21   League 2 Grimsby Town Away Lost 0-1
Sat Sep 28   League 2 Colchester United Home Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 5   League 2 Cambridge United Away Drew 2-2
Sat Oct 12   League 2 Port Vale Home Won 2-1
Sat Oct 19   League 2 Oldham Athletic Away Won 1-0
Tue Oct 22   League 2 Cheltenham Town Away Lost 0-3
Sat Nov 2   League 2 Carlisle United Away Lost 1-2
Sun Nov 10   FAC 1 Kingstonian Home Lost 0-4**
Sat Nov 16   League 2 Mansfield Town Home Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 23   League 2 Salford City Away Drew 0-0
Sat Nov 30   League 2 Bradford City Home Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 7   League 2 Crewe Alexandra Home Postponed**
Sat Dec 14   League 2 Walsall Away Drew 1-1
Sat Dec 21   League 2 Plymouth Argyle Home Postponed**
Thu Dec 26   League 2 Grimsby Town Home Drew 1-1
Sun Dec 29   League 2 Forest Green Rovers Away Lost 0-1
Wed Jan 1   League 2 Port Vale Away Drew 2-2
Sat Jan 4   League 2 Cambridge United Home Won 1-0
Sat Jan 11   League 2 Oldham Athletic Home Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 18   League 2 Colchester United Away Lost 1-2
Tue Jan 21   League 2 Crewe Alexandra Home Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 25   League 2 Forest Green Rovers Home Won 2-1
Tue Jan 28   League 2 Newport County Away Lost 0-1
Sat Feb 1   League 2 Northampton Town Home Lost 0-1
Sat Feb 8   League 2 Leyton Orient Away Drew 1-1
Tue Feb 11   League 2 Morecambe Away Lost 0-2
Sat Feb 15   League 2 Exeter City Home Lost 2-3
Tue Feb 18   League 2 Plymouth Argyle Home Drew 1-1
Sat Feb 22   League 2 Crewe Alexandra Away Lost 0-2
Sat Feb 29   League 2 Salford City Home Lost 0-2
Sat Mar 7   League 2 Plymouth Argyle Away Lost 0-3

* The 2019/20 season ended early because of the coronavirus pandemic with the last League 2 match - other than the play-offs - being played on Tuesday March 10th. Because of the differing amount of matches played by clubs it was decided that a points per game (PPG) table would replace the traditional points table to decide final League placings - Macclesfield finished 24th using both systems. Click on table for full details.

Macclesfield Town's nine remaining unplayed League matches were - 
Sat Mar 14 League 2 Walsall Home
Tue Mar 17 League 2 Cheltenham Town Home
Sat Mar 21 League 2 Bradford City Away
Sat Mar 28 League 2 Carlisle United Home
Sat Apr 4 League 2 Mansfield Town Away
Fri Apr 10 League 2 Scunthorpe United Away
Mon Apr 13 League 2 Stevenage Home
Sat Apr 18 League 2 Crawley Town Away
Sat Apr 25 League 2 Swindon Town Home

** Macclesfield had financial problems in the 2019/20 season. Late payment of players wages was a regular occurrence and as a protest against that the first team refused to play in their FA Cup tie at home to Kingstonian on Sunday November 10th 2019. The Silkmen fielded a mixture of youth team players and loan players against the non-leaguers - and lost 4-0. Their home League 2 match against Crewe on December 7th was postponed for the same reason with the players - and unpaid staff - saying that the late payments were causing health and well-being problems which meant that players could not concentrate on on-the-pitch matters. Their next scheduled home match - against Plymouth Argyle on December 21st - was also postponed after their local Safety Advisory Group served the club with a 'zero-capacity notice' over fears that not enough staff would be on duty to guarantee fan safety. For calling off the Crewe match the EFL docked Macclesfield six points with a further 4 points suspended but on appeal that was reduced to a four point penalty with three more suspended. For the Plymouth postponement the EFL docked them seven points - the suspended three points plus four more) with another two point deduction being suspended. That suspended two point penalty became an actual two point deduction in June - with a further four point penalty being suspended - as a punishment for not paying the March wages. You would be forgiven if you lost track of their punishment but in all that was a total of 13 points deducted with four more being suspended. That saw Macclesfield finishing the season just one point and one place about bottom club Stevenage and so the final table had Macclesfield staying in the League and bottom club Stevenage relegated to the National League. Or so we thought! On August 11th an appeal tribunal concluded that the 4 point suspended penalty should apply to the 2019/20 season so their total points deduction was 17 and Macclesfield finished bottom and were relegated in place of Stevenage.

*** They say that a typical British summer is two hot days followed by a thunderstorm and that certainly seemed the case at the time of The Carabao League Cup Second Round tie between Grimsby and Macclesfield. The days before the match had seen the country bask in sunshine culminating in a record temperature for an August Bank Holiday Monday being set the day before the match (at Heathrow) - 33.3 degrees centigrade. But the Tuesday night at Cleethorpes was a tad different and a spectacular thunderstorm saw the pitch become waterlogged and unplayable. Referee Darren Drysdale abandoned the match a half time with the score at 0-0 - match void.

 

Did You Know.....

So, what wouldn't you make freely available to an alcoholic ex-footballer about to appear in a chat show on live national television?
Guess what George Best was given?

Read about the results ...Football in the Media

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk