Professional Football Association


Norman 'Bites Yer Legs' Hunter
had the reputation of a fierce competitor playing over 500 League games for Leeds in the 1960s and 1970s.

Ian Rush,
his goals helped Liverpool win about every honour going in the 1980s.

Alan Shearer,
his goals saw him honoured when at Blackburn and Newcastle.

of other awards listings on footballsite


Following the success of the Football Writers 'Footballer of the Year' awards, in 1974 the Professional Footballers' Association, under the Chairmanship of Derek Dougan, decided to introduce its own 'Player of the Year' awards. Members of the PFA each have a vote  for what is known as the 'players player' award with the first recipient of the honour being Norman Hunter in 1974.



Norman Hunter (Leeds United)
    1975 Colin Todd (Derby County)
    1976 Pat Jennings (Tottenham Hotspur)
    1977 Andy Gray (Aston Villa)
    1978 Peter Shilton (Nottingham Forest)
    1979 Liam Brady (Arsenal)
    1980 Terry McDermott (Liverpool)
    1981 John Wark (Ipswich Town)
    1982 Kevin Keegan (Southampton)
    1983 Kenny Dalglish (Liverpool)
    1984 Ian Rush (Liverpool)
    1985 Peter Reid (Everton)
    1986 Gary Lineker (Everton)
    1987 Clive Allen (Tottenham Hotspur)
    1988 John Barnes (Liverpool)
    1989 Mark Hughes (Manchester United)
    1990 David Platt (Aston Villa)
    1991 Mark Hughes (Manchester United)
    1992 Gary Pallister (Manchester United)
    1993 Paul McGrath (Aston Villa)
    1994 Eric Cantona (Manchester United)
    1995 Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers)
    1996 Les Ferdinand (Newcastle United)
    1997 Alan Shearer (Newcastle United)
    1998 Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)
    1999 David Ginola (Tottenham Hotspur)
    2000 Roy Keane (Manchester United)
    2001 Teddy Sheringham (Manchester United)
    2002 Ruud Van Nistelrooy (Manchester United)
    2003 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
    2004 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
    2005 John Terry (Chelsea)
    2006 Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
    2007 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
    2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
    2009 Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
    2010 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
    2011 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
    2012 Robin van Persie (Arsenal)
    2013 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
    2014 Luis Suárez (Liverpool)
    2015 Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
    2016 Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
    2017 N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)
    2018 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
      2019 Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
      2020 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
      2021 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
      2022 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
      2023 Erling Haaland (Manchester City)


Name the former Scottish international footballer with the Christian names of 'Robert Primrose'.

Click for answer

For hundreds of more quiz questions click on Quiz

Web footballsite.co.uk